× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Overheating of ReadyNas RN104 power adapter

rajamani_v
Aspirant

Overheating of ReadyNas RN104 power adapter

Hi,

I have been using ReadyNAS 104 for more than 4 years now. Of late, the power adapter gets over hot and the unit shuts down automatically. If switched on after a while, it works perfectly, but it again gets hot and shuts down. Interested in knowing what causes this and how to avoid it. Will replacing the power adapter help?

I have been using the following hard-disks, just in case.

1. Seagate 4TB ST4000VN000
2. WD 4TB WD40EFRX
3. Seagate 4TB ST4000DM000
4. Seagate 10TB ST10000VX0004

Thanks in Advance!

Model: RN104|ReadyNAS 100 Series 4- Bay
Message 1 of 12
Retired_Member
Not applicable

Hi @rajamani_v, you wrote "Will replacing the power adapter help?". If your current one is broken, the new one will most probably help.

However, your more interesting question is "Interested in knowing what causes this and how to avoid it.".

Let me list some "dont"s and you could check, whether some of them might apply to your situation.

(1) Do not expose the power adapter to direct sunlight.

(2) Do not keep it close to other objects emitting heat in general

(3) Especially, Do not keep it within a hot airstream exhausted by another device too close to the power adapter

(3) Do not for what reason ever cover it with something.

Let me also mention some "do"s and you can try whether there is something, which helps:

(1) Put it on a tin box to let that act as some kind of heat pipe

(2) Put it in a way maximizing airflow around it, eg put it on two pens in a way that fresh air can not only flow over but also under it.

Happy testing and kind regards

Message 2 of 12
StephenB
Guru

@Retired_Member wrote: