× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Properly Setting up Permissions moving from Windows server to ReadyNAS

dpitts
Aspirant

Properly Setting up Permissions moving from Windows server to ReadyNAS

Complicated post - I'm sorry....I'm a ReadyNAS newbie.

Had a Windows 2008 server.  It was just a networked drive.  Did not use it for policy setting, pushing updates or anything.  Have 9 MACs and 7 PCs in the office.

I used ViceVersa (https://www.tgrmn.com) to copy over all of the files from the Windows Server to the ReadyNAS.  600+ gig.  Any checkbox that said to carry over, keep or use or move permissions I did NOT check.  I did not want any of the old Windows permissions to come with the files....   Our company has about 6 divisions so there were 6 main folders.

I created Users on the NAS and Groups.  

My main SHARE on the ReadyNAS where the entire "server" was copied to is called "Data".  Under that is my "FILE-SERVER" folder and under that are the files (600+ gig) and the main 6 folder structure.

In the ADMIN login page, under SHARES, i see DATA and clicking the cog wheel then SETTINGS and then under the tab FILE ACCESS it has Folder Owner and Folder Group set to "guest".  I have Anonymous enabled also.

I have each machine connected with their user info.  MACs with smb:// and PCs mapped the drive.

Now I have random fodlers that people cannot get into.  They click the folder and it hangs...then the Finder window crashes or their PC folder window is Non-Responsive.

I did notice when i conencted a MAC with afp:// it accessed the folder, but another MAC connected with afp:// would not.  And I have not set any permissions via Windows>Properties>Security on those folders at all...

It's like I'm missing something in copying these files over and setting people up to acces them.... ?