× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: RN102 iTunes Server connects but is empty

RN_Dan
Aspirant

RN102 iTunes Server connects but is empty

Hello,

I am a complete NAS newbie so please bear with me. The main reason I purchased a NAS was media file backup (precious pictures and videos of wedding, honeymoon, new born baby etc!

I was also attracted to the 102 because of the stated native iTunes Server support, but I cannot get this to work.

I can open and view files and folders in Windows explorer, including the same Music folder set as the iTunes Server folder
I can view photographs on a PS3 using DNLA, but not music
I can connect itunes client to a shared library, but its appears to be empty

I'm guessing this is a permissions issue or some kind of iTunes specific file is missing.
I've searched these forums but cannot find any relevent hits.

RN102 is running the latest firmware 6.0.4

Any ideas?

-- Dan
Message 1 of 18
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

What directory did you set as the path for the iTunes Server?
Message 2 of 18
StephenB
Guru

It does no harm to reset the folder permssions, so maybe try that.

The path name for Itunes needs to include the volume (\volume\folder)
Message 3 of 18
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

It should be /volume/folder not \volume\folder
Message 4 of 18
StephenB
Guru

mdgm wrote:
It should be /volume/folder not \volume\folder
:slap: Yes, forward slash, not back slash.

I hate the slash stuff. I am always reversing unix/linux and windows conventions. In ssh (and cmd) I usually cd one folder at a time...
Message 5 of 18
RN_Dan
Aspirant

Hello again,

I have a single disk installed (Samsung HD204UI) and the volume name is "data" because this is the default from the factory reset & format.
The iTunes server directory is set to "/data/music". I've tried the rebuild permissions feature with no avail 😞