× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RN104 immediately "out of memory 390" error after 6.2.2 -> 6.2.5 -> 6.4.2 upgrade

iany
Guide

RN104 immediately "out of memory 390" error after 6.2.2 -> 6.2.5 -> 6.4.2 upgrade

I decided to upgrade my 2+ years old 6.2.2 firmware to a newer stable one. The latest in 6.4 branch seemed OK -> about 9 months old, so I thought it's been proven. I wasn't wrong, I just missed all the problems others have been reporting...

You know, in work, I'm a responsible sysadmin, reading whole release notes, all procedures, testing all in the lab before trying in production. But at home--well, I'm just a better-class home user. I read release notes for known issues--no such section in Netgear's. So I tried forums, not much there, so I went ahead. Come on, Netgear! How can you expect home users to be able to dig in your KB and/or forums for hours to learn everything they may or may not need for a successful firmware upgrade? I did dig in now, because this now has priority! But before, I had had my kids' homeworks to help with etc. I also do not have another system at home to make tests on...

Now, my system with 5+ TB (4 x 2 TB disks) of data goes into __out_of_memory_390 error about 1 or 2 minutes after I boot it. All the posts here are reiterating one and only solution:

1. Back up the config and all the data (this should be possible even in my situation using "Volume read only" option from Boot menu -> check how-to at http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/22891/~/how-do-i-access-the-boot-menu-on-my-readynas-1...).

2. Do a factory reset.

3. Set up the NAS from scratch or restore the config.

4. Restore your data (may be difficult if you use home folders--all individual users need to restore their data themselves as far as I understand it--not even the admin will be able to restore permissions correctly--weird for me, but it's also unconfirmed).