× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

RN31600 - Inactive Volumes

AftaImage
Aspirant

RN31600 - Inactive Volumes

Hi All,

Long time user of ReadyNAS (since I bought my first ReadyNAS NV+).

I have a RN316 with 4 x 6TB drives running X-Raid (slots 3 to 6). 

Last year one of the drives started reporting errors, I ordered an identical replacement which arrived pretty quick.

I went to swap out drive 3 but then for reasons I still do not understand today, made the poor life decision to  put the new drive in slot 2 and attempt to make a global spare. Unfortunately xRaid immediately grabbed the drive and tried to expand.

With in seconds I took out the new drive and then ReadyNAS kicked up errors (naturally). I started playing around with it but noted my new drive appeared to still have no data on it, and putting it back into Slot 2 does not seem to enable the expansion to restart.

As part of trying to work on the issue, I rebooted the NAS and ever since, the array has been offline.

This all happened a year ago and so between dealing with a young family, work challenges and trying to locate as much back up data of my PC's, old ReadyNAS boxes and usb drives, I get to this point.

Good news is I have a lot of the important stuff backed up, but there is still some stuff on the NAS I would love to get. I have read through other similar posts and the general solution ends up having the netgear team remote in.

Sadly I do not believe I have any such support and due to previous mentioned work challenges, cant really afford a support extension.

So before I blow away the defunct array and start from scratch, does anyone know of any tricks someone like me could try as a last ditch effort (keeping in mind when it comes to Linux, I am a big novice)?

Thank you heaps in advance.

Model: RN31600|ReadyNAS 300 Series 6- Bay (Diskless)
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru