× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNAS NV+ v2 Raid Sync OK, Volume expansion failed?

dorsetweevil
Aspirant

ReadyNAS NV+ v2 Raid Sync OK, Volume expansion failed?

Hi,

I've been using a ReadyNAS NV+ v2 for a few years.  Over the past few years, I had reached 3 x 4TB Seagate drives (ST4000VN000-1H4168) and 1 x 2TBWestern Digital Red (WD20EFRX) using X-RAID2 giving 9TB.  Since I received a "90% capacity" alert, I decided to swap out the last 2TB for a 4TB drive.

Since the 4TB Seagate already in use is no longer made, I purchased a 4TB Seagate IronWolf (ST4000VN008-2DR166) to replace the 2TB WD Red drive.  The new drive sync'd succesfully, but the front panel still showed '0.9/9.0T Free' so I suspected something wasn't right.  The log reported "Volume expansion failed", followed a little while later by "Incomplete file system expansion detected. Resuming...". This was repeated a couple of times.

Can anyone help/advise what is happening and what I should try next?

Many thanks!

Model: RND4000v2|ReadyNAS NV+ v2 Chassis only
Message 1 of 15

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

@dorsetweevil wrote:

But the sharing protocols and their settings have not restored to their previous setting, despite backing up everything except 'Everything' and 'Data Volumes'.  Thankfully I took some screen captures of some of the protocol settings pages, but I would have thought these should have been restored?

Have I done anything daft?!

I've never owned a v2, so I don't have first-hand experience on what settings it saves.  I've have also expected protocol settings to be saved/restored though.  FWIW, I have seen that not all settings are carried over with OS-6 NAS too, so it is good that you took the screen captures.

Anyway, nothing daft.

@dorsetweevil wrote: