× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNAS RN10400 - one disk failure quickly leads to array loss and admin account lockout

EMddx
Aspirant

ReadyNAS RN10400 - one disk failure quickly leads to array loss and admin account lockout

Hello all,

I've had my ReadyNAS RN10400 for about 4 years, and have been happy with it until today. My concern is not with the failed hard drive ( I know they will all fail eventually), but how the system quickly devolved and resulted in data loss. Firmware was latest, updated about three weeks ago. Array is RAID5 with four x 2 TB SATA drives. If I did not have multiple backups of the NAS data, I'd be quite upset by now. 

Further, I'm a bit upset that the NetGear support lasts for 90 days. That seems extremely short, considering these devices are purpose built to hold your family files / pictures / videos for years. 

I work in IT, and have been server / network admin for decades. I understand disk arrays, but what I saw today was a bit crazy.