× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: ReadyNas 3220 disk failure on RAID6

AndB39it
Aspirant

ReadyNas 3220 disk failure on RAID6

We had two disk failures on a RAID6 volume on our 3220, in about two days.

Web gui shows volume as degraded; we extracted one drive marked as red in GUI, the other failed disk (also marked as red in gui) was let inserted and powered.

I can't understand led pattern of failed disk still in place, there's no red LED in front of disk tray and blinkin pattern seems as the disk is still Ok and similar to other disk that are GREEN on web gui.

Maybe i miss some of the workings of this NAS model? (i must say i'm quite new to NETGEAR professional products).

So i decided to ask on this community.

Thanks in advance and sorry for my englisk

Regards.

Andrea

Model: RN3220|ReadyNAS 3220
Message 1 of 6
StephenB
Guru

Try installing RAIDar on a PC, and then look at the disk status that it reports.  https://kb.netgear.com/20684/ReadyNAS-Downloads

If you mouse over the disk icons, you should see some additional status (for instance, resyncing if you inserted a new disk).

The hardware manual for your ReadyNAS is here: http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/RN2120/ReadyNAS_OS6_Rackmount_HWM_EN.pdf

The information on page 71 appears incorrect.  It talks about the top tray LED as showing activity and the bottom tray LED as showing health "on all trays except RR4360".  But pages 43-44 say something different for the RN3220 and RN4220 - the top LED is labeled there as disk power, and the bottom LED is labeld as disk activity. 

And the specifics on the bottom LED on page 46 is confusing.  It says

• Blinking. The disk is active. 
  • Blinking on/off/on/off pattern. The disk failed or is faulty

But it doesn't say clearly how to tell the difference between those states.