× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNas NV+ not powering on

Lord_Style
Aspirant

ReadyNas NV+ not powering on

Hello,

I've got a ReadyNas NV+ which i've been running for 8 years, this weekend however I got some email alerts about temperature on two of the drives overnight and then the next day I found it turned off.

Now the device does not turn back on, if I plug in the power cable and press the on button, the on button lights blue for half a second then turns off.

If I try to turn it back on, nothing happens.

If I unplug the power cable and plug it back in, the light will go blue again for half a second when I press the power button but once again it will do nothing with subsequent button presses.

I've tried another power cable and also tried powering it on with no memory stick, the same happens.

I've also tried unplugging all of the drives and powering it on, I end up with the same situation.

Does anyone have any idea what component might be at fault here?

If I am unable to resurrect my NAS, my drives are formatted in X-RAID, what options do I have to recover my data?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 6
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNas NV+ not powering on

No thoughts on what is wrong.

Options for getting data back:

(a) mount drives in x86 linux system (possible a windows PC running a linux boot CD).  There's a dbott post on this here: http://home.bott.ca/webserver/?p=306 but it is not accessible at the moment.  Google Cache is visible, and says

(1) sudo su
(2) apt-get install fuseext2
(3) apt-get install lvm2
(4) modprobe fuse
(5) vgscan
(6) vgchange -ay c
(7) fuseext2 -o ro -o sync_read /dev/c/c /mnt

There is also a link to this blog: http://greyproc.blogspot.jp/2010/04/readynas-600-raid-recovery-with-ubuntu.html

(b) You can also perhaps find a used NV+, and migrate the disks to that