× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Share folder in W10

fred256
Aspirant

Share folder in W10

I've been using RN212 (OS6) as home NAS since 2018 without any problems.  I keep my personal/project files on the NAS.   Since the data on the NAS is critical to me and because NTGR is no longer supporting the RN212, I thought it time to move to a more current NAS.   I bought a Synology DR220+.   I have a question regarding why the RN212 and DR220+ handle share folders differently in W10.   I hope someone can explain.   I've got W10 file sharing enabled.

RN212, after setting up the NAS and share folders, both are visible in W10 explorer.  I'm able to create a simple shortcut for either the NAS or share on my W10 desktop.  Drag and drop to the shortcut.  Easy.   I've been using a static IP on this NAS.

DR220+, after setting up the NAS and a test share folder, I can see the NAS in W10 explorer, but not the share folder.   I have to map the share folder to a W10 drive number, enter login acct name and pwd.   I looked through RN OS6 SW manual regarding sharing folders in W10.  I see nothing about mapping the share to a W10 drive number.   Why the difference between the two system?

Thanks.

Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: Share folder in W10

@fred256 wrote:

Can you tell me the benefit of mapping the share folder to a w10 drive number?   Why would I want drive mapping instead of using a shortcut to the share?

There are a couple of windows applications out there that can handle a mapped drive, but not a network share.  But most will work w/o mapping the drive, and it will be quite clear if they don't.  I suggest not mapping it, unless you run into one of those applications.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 4

All Replies
StephenB
Guru