× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: System volume root's usage is 84%. This condition should not occur under normal conditions. Cont

dweinshel
Tutor

System volume root's usage is 84%. This condition should not occur under normal conditions. Contact

So, I am now receiving this error message and have combed the community. I see many have this issue but I am still not able to figure out what to do. I have ssh'ed in to the root directory and can see that /dev/md0 is 89% full. Many posts say to delete this and all will be well. How to delete if that is the case? And how do I know that that will not harm my data and actually is the correct fix? I am new to ssh. Please help. I've spent hours researching the community and remain uncertain as to the next step. Using OS 6.10.0 RC2 I use no apps. Thanks DW
Model: RN102|ReadyNAS 100 Series
Message 1 of 6
StephenB
Guru

Re: System volume root's usage is 84%. This condition should not occur under normal conditions. Cont

@dweinshel wrote:
I have ssh'ed in to the root directory and can see that /dev/md0 is 89% full. Many posts say to delete this and all will be well.

Absolutely not.  The NAS boots from the root partition.  You aren't understanding what you are reading.

If you don't have a backup of your data, you should certainly make one.

You could try paid support (my.netgear.com), though they would charge.

However perhaps see if @JohnCM_S or @OOM-9 offer to take a look - they might want to, since any issues with 6.10 should be solved before it is released.

Message 2 of 6
asimb
Star

System volume root's usage is 84%. This condition should not occur under normal conditions.

Hi,

I had exactly the same problem. Since March the 5th the antivirus didn't update any more. On March the 17th I received the error message "System volume root's usage is 84%".