× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Time machine backups last only a few months than need to be started again

Gran_Maestro
Guide

Time machine backups last only a few months than need to be started again

Hi everybody, in short: I have been making regular backups using Time Machine for the last 6-7 years

I started initially using a Time Capsule and those files are still perfectly ok after quite a few years
With ReadyNAS they become un-writeable after 2-3 months. I get an error message stating the backup is beyond repair and being locked into read-only mode hence, the whole process has to start again and again and again
About 4 times now in one and half year or so and this way you loose your back up history.
It's most annoying and I wonder if there is something wrong that can be fixed.

It appears to me be OSX related as it happens also with several other NAS makes.

Any idea as to how to reduce this issue?

I found some instructions online in order to repair a un-useable sparse.bundle here: http://www.garth.org/archives/2011,08,27,169,fix-time-machine-sparsebundle-nas-based-backup-errors.h... and would like to try give it a shot.

Time Machine however has automatically started a new file and there is not much I can do so far to retrieve the old data unless I can restore an old snapshot of the TimeMachine backup. If any was available.

I wonder if ReadyNAS makes snapshots also of the Time Machine sparse.bundle and if/how they could be retrieved for further investigation.

Message 1 of 13
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Which ReadyNAS model are you using and which firmware version?

Which version of Mac OS X?

Are you backing up to the NAS via ethernet or wireless?

No we don't take snapshots of TM backups. Snapshots aren't designed for that.

Message 2 of 13
Gran_Maestro
Guide

My ReadyNAS is a model 102 running the latest firmware update, 6.2.5 that is.