× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Upgrading disk capacity on ReadyNAS 314

rmurgz
Tutor

Upgrading disk capacity on ReadyNAS 314

Hi, 

I own a ReadyNAS 314, running OS 6.4.0 with 4x WD Red 2TB hard drives to Raid 5 with X-Raid enabled. This gives me c. 5.4TB of usable storage. I'm a photographer and consume a lot of storage and as a result am 95%+ full. I'm looking ahead and need to grow space quickly.

Forgive me if the questions seem simple but I'm struggling to definitively establish the following and would appreciate the forum's assistance:

1. What is the maximum storage I can put in the Readynas 314? Can I have 4x8TB drives, or am I restricted to smaller drives as I saw on a cheatsheet somewhere that there was a maximum of 24TB.

2. In terms of type of drives I was looking at WD Red and WDRed Pro in 6tb size - both are SATA III device running at 6GB/s but one has a 64mb cache, the other a 128mb. Will I feel the benefit of that?

3. Thirdly if I were to stagger my investment and buy two drives now and two perhaps in a year's time would I get a storage benefit now and is there an easy way of calculating what additional space I would get with an X-Raid+Raid5 configuration

4. Finally is there any particular order / methodology I need to follow to do the upgrade? I read that hotswapping was the way to go but can I swap from any bays or is there more to it than that

Apologies again if these are daft questions - I'm no networking wizard, but I'm keen to avoid any fubars (and wasting money too).

Cheers,

Rich

Model: RN31400|ReadyNAS 300 Series 4- Bay
Message 1 of 7
StephenB
Guru

One general piece of advice - you shouldn't assume that RAID is enough to keep your data safe.  You also need a backup on another device (I recommend 2 backups myself).

@rmurgz wrote: