× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

X-RAID horizontal expansion and storage size

ilan24
Aspirant

X-RAID horizontal expansion and storage size

Hi everyone,

I've been reading up on X-RAID horizontal expansion for my RN314.

I have been running a single 3TB HDD for a few years and recently bought another 3TB HDD to expand storage. I made a bit of a mistake in not realising X-RAID was enabled so the extra drive has done nothing but offer redundancy. Upon reading up on this and considering the age of the original HDD this probably isn't the worst thing, so will stick with the current set-up and purchase another 3TB HDD for expansion.

I'm curious to understand a bit more about how the redundancy works in that case though. When there are 2 equal sized drives it makes perfect sense how I could get full redundancy. But if I get another 3TB HDD drive, I'll then have 6TB of total storage and only 3TB for redundancy. Assuming I fill up the extra 3TB, how will I have redundancy for all 6TB of used storage? Is it compressed on the drive used for redundancy, or will I only have partial redundancy? And the same question applies if I then expand again in the 4th slot and have 9TB of total storage and how I would get redundancy for all of this if only 3TB is available for redundancy.

Thanks for your help!

Model: RN31400|ReadyNAS 300 Series 4- Bay (Diskless)
Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: X-RAID horizontal expansion and storage size

@ilan24 wrote:

But how, if I add another 3TB after that, will I get that full 3TB as well? Wouldn't that mean that I would be sacrificing redundany somewhere?

You wouldn't be sacrificing redundancy.