× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973
Reply

Re: does OS reinstall wipe addons?

dannieboiz
Aspirant

does OS reinstall wipe addons?

i'm having issues with with my apache and nothing seems to fix the issue. Planning to do an OS reinstall and was wondering beside wiping the Network settings. what exactly else does it wipe?
Message 1 of 4
RX
Luminary
Luminary

Re: does OS reinstall wipe addons?

OS reinstall will set the password back to its default which is "netgear1" (for OS 4 models) or "password" (for OS 5 and OS 6 models) without the quotation marks. Also, the NAS will be set back as being a DHCP client and this will not delete any data/Add-Ons saved in the NAS.
Message 2 of 4
Nhellie
Virtuoso

Re: does OS reinstall wipe addons?

Adding a link for descriptions of boot menu codes:

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detai ... hjbQ%3D%3D
Message 3 of 4
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: does OS reinstall wipe addons?

If an add-on overwrites files included in the firmware then an OS Re-install may break that add-on. However in that case a firmware update would also break the add-on.

Installing the add-on over the top of itself should fix the problem if an OS Re-install breaks the add-on.
Message 4 of 4
Top Contributors
Discussion stats
  • 3 replies
  • 1597 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 4 in conversation
Announcements