× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: help with ultra 4 storage expansion (from 2x2tb drives t

chhumper
Aspirant

help with ultra 4 storage expansion (from 2x2tb drives to ?)

hi,
have had a lot of success here in the forum recently, so am again reaching out for some help.
i currently have two 2tb drives in my ultra 4.
current configuration is RAID Level X-RAID2, 2 disks.
status is: Redundant
ch 1 and 2 are both SAMSUNG HD204UI [1863 GB]
i am interesred in increasing storage in the easiest possible way. can i only place additional 2tb drives into the ultra 4? is it as easy as powering the system down and inserting them? need they be the same make/model? are there instructions for total beginners somewhere to which i can be pointed that would help with this process?
many thanks to whomever responds. the support is appreciated.
Message 1 of 9
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

What version of RAIDiator are you running?

Do you have a backup?
Message 2 of 9
chhumper
Aspirant

RAIDiator is 4.2.27, i think.
backup? not sure what you mean. sorry. at present, the capacity is 2tb. so, i assume that one is simply mirroring the other. does that answer your question?
thanks.
Message 3 of 9
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Is the NAS used as the primary storage for important data i.e. do you have the main copies of important files on the NAS?

If so, it is important to backup the NAS, whether to USB disks, another NAS, the cloud or some place else. No important data should be stored on just the one device. There are things such as multiple disk failures, fire, flood, theft etc. that RAID can't protect you against. Preferably you should keep one backup of important data off-site at all times.

The first step I would suggest is to make a backup if you don't have one.