× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: troubleshooting: RN316 very slow to view directories of files

jamminontoast
Aspirant

troubleshooting: RN316 very slow to view directories of files

To be frank; i've been using the home NAS for quite a few years and its basically a data storage box which backs up my files and media files for streaming. Works well for these sceniarios, however when i do try to connect to the NAS via AFP (via my MBPs) it is a dog to wait for the directories and files to load. I am not talking about 1-3 seconds, i am talking about up to 30seconds at times.

See picture.
(#1) on initial connection to the share file, this folder appears in 1-2sec
(#2) has approx 50 files/ folders - takes 5-10+ sec
(#3) Digging into level 3 - it can take 7-10+ sec
(#4) Digging into level 4 (approx 110 files) - can take 30+ seconds to load?
The rest is the actual utilisation of the readynas webview UI. Very little chatter on network (2 users)

As mentioned, i've used this to sync with BTSync (Resilio) and/ or dropbox as backup drive, then use offsite backup. Thus i really don't have a need to 'browse' through these directories from the NAS, i'd love to, however due to above issue, i never do...

The RN316 is 6bays with 4,2,2,4,2,2TB in RAID6 configuration and going through wireless - Netgear D8500 Nighthawk X8 AC5300.
Not too sure what is causing this?
[edit] - i have antivirus on NAS turned on, - turned that off, no real noticable diffeference
- MBP CPU utilisation is at approx 3%

Questions:
1. Any tips to help troubleshoot this or find the root cause?
2. Would it make a REAL difference if i move from RAID6 to RAID10 (i googled this - however would be a project just for migration)