Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-05-09

Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

I am having big problems enabling any of the services on my brand new Netgear ReadyNAS 102. I am running the latest firmware, 6.0.5.

Whenever I select a service (Under System / Settings / Services), tick the Enable box and press Apply I get the error message:
Service Operation Failed - Port number is invalid or reserved.

It does not matter which of the services (FTP, iTunes, ReadyDLNA etc) that I select, it gives me the same error message on all services.

By the way, I am really annoyed with Netgear. One of the main reasons that I bought the ReadyNAS was so that I could run PLEX (which it clearly says on the internet that the NAS comes preloaded with). I understand now, from reading several internet posts that my NAS cannot run PLEX. I hope that they are wrong and/or that Netgear sorts this out. I've had loads of Netgear hardware in the past (Routers, dongles etc) and I have Always been very pleased with them, but I am not happy about this purchase at all so far. I hope my view on the NAS changes soon... :twisted:

Thanks for any help with this
Erik
Guru
Posts: 30,281
Registered: ‎2015-07-16

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

I am not seeing this error on my RN102 (also 6.0.5). Since you purchased in the last 90 days you are still entitled to phone support.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-05-09

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Thanks StephenB for your quick reply. I will give Netgear support a ring to see what they say, and will update this thread when I've got some more information.
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-06

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

FWIW - I've just fired up my new 314 (which replaces an NV+ that just can't handle the bandwidth) for the first time and have the same issue enabling NFS.
I will be expecting the 314 to do all that the NV+ did and faster - so on both of the OPs points, I'm now looking for some positive results from support.
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2011-10-06

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

NetGear support came back to me very quickly with a workaround that gets me over this hurdle.
The issue is escalated within the Netgear Support organisation so there should be an official fix coming soon. Until then, this was the Workaround I was advised to try:

"Could you please go to the System tab - Settings - Then in the HTTPS services Clear the port 2 apply and reboot."
Guru
Posts: 30,281
Registered: ‎2015-07-16

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Thanks for sharing.

This is not happening in all cases, as I have port 2 filled in on my unit, but have not seen the problem. But it is helpful to know the workaround, and that it is on the fix list.
Virtuoso
Posts: 5,344
Registered: ‎2009-09-02

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

yep it solve the problem, also if you have same value for port 1 and port 2: 443 you must blank port 2
If you like my add-ons - Si vous aimez mes add-ons :
EN/US: --- -------- FR: or Paypal @mail: readynas@orange.fr
Where I'm teaching
4B Perros
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-05-09

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Hi all, thank you very much for your replies.
The above solution (to delete the port number port 2 on https) worked fine.
I called the support and they said that in firmware 6.0.6 (6.0.5 is the latest at the moment), this will be fixed.

So, if you have the same problem:
1. Go to System
2. Go to Settings
3. Under Services, click on HTTPS
4. Delete 443 (or whatever it says) from the field with the label "Port 2"
5. Click Apply
6. You might have to login to your NAS again after this (or refresh the page)

Once again, thanks all that replied to this thread.

Erik
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2013-05-16

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Had the same problem with my 314, NFS and FTP both gave the invalid/reserved port error. Blanking out the second port for HTTPS worked like a charm once the device came back up.
Guru
Posts: 30,281
Registered: ‎2015-07-16

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Note you can also temporarily forward the second port number to the first port in your router, and it will connect.

So if you are using the second port for wide-area internet access, the workaround doesn't prevent you from continuing to do that.
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2013-05-25

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

This big, upcoming change Netgear had at the end of May for Plex on the RN102? I just spoke with them again, and apparently the "fix" is to merely remove the mention of Plex from all RN102 marketing material! IT'S NOT COMING, according to Netgear today (5/25/13)

Awesome news. Plus, with my 15% restocking fee from the retailer, I couldn't be happier! :twisted:
Apprentice
Posts: 16,075
Registered: ‎2007-09-24

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Weird, cause Plex is available for the older ARM series, odd the newer faster ARM line wouldn't have it also.
http://www.plexapp.com/getplex/

With other add-on developers recently pulled out of the NTGR Marketplace, I wonder if its a NTGR issue, or Plex decided to walk away.
Jedi Council Alumni | See my profile About page for my ReadyNAS history (2004-2012) |
https://twitter.com/chirpah/status/852389882764840960/photo/1
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2013-06-11

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

chirpa wrote:
Weird, cause Plex is available for the older ARM series, odd the newer faster ARM line wouldn't have it also.
http://www.plexapp.com/getplex/

With other add-on developers recently pulled out of the NTGR Marketplace, I wonder if its a NTGR issue, or Plex decided to walk away.


Then, any possible way to downgrade ARM 6.x to 5.x?
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 45,801
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

No you cannot downgrade to 5.3.x

However there are signs that Plex is working on a new Plex build for the 102.
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 45,801
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Plex Media Server for the RN102 is now available in ReadyNAS OS 6.0.8: http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=71679
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2013-06-11

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Maybe you could enlighten us how to make it work.

After installed 6.0.8 on RN102, no apps are shown... NOTHING!!
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 45,801
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Does it show under Apps > Available Apps?

By default when you go to Apps you will be taken to the Installed Apps page. You need to go to the Available Apps page and click the Install button.
Virtuoso
Posts: 5,344
Registered: ‎2009-09-02

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

On Frontview main page you will only see installed apps which are enabled (running)
If you like my add-ons - Si vous aimez mes add-ons :
EN/US: --- -------- FR: or Paypal @mail: readynas@orange.fr
Where I'm teaching
4B Perros
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2013-06-11

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Nop, nothing on Available Apps nor genie+marketplace...

I used Chrome, IE10 and Firefox...
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2013-06-11

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102



Aspirant
Posts: 99
Registered: ‎2014-07-13

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Same issue here. I had to disable the genie+marketplace to see "Installed Apps and Available Apps." Genie+marketplace service enabled I have the same issue, spinning wheel and blank page, running 6.0.8.
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2013-06-11

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

Done, I re-downloaded 6.0.8 ARM and it's working.

Maybe be before I installed 6.0.8 Intel.. Smiley Tongue

Thanks.
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 45,801
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: Problems enabling services on ReadyNAS 102

If you tried to install the firmware image for the wrong architecture you would have got an error.
Discussion Stats
  • 22 replies
  • 1221 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 10 in conversation
Top Contributors