× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS 102 With X-RAID Not Expanding Storage, Device Becomes Unreachable

dwitkin
Aspirant

ReadyNAS 102 With X-RAID Not Expanding Storage, Device Becomes Unreachable

Hi. I've been using a ReadyNAS 102 for about 9 months now. I had a 1.5TB WD hard disk in bay 1 and a 1.0TB WD disk in bay 2. Everything was working great.

I decided I would upgrade both disks to 3TB Western Digital HD-W30EFRX. Before purchaing them, I looked the drives up and they were on the ReadyNAS compatibility list.

I'm using X-RAID (/RAID 1, I believe - redundant disks only). Here's a quote from the software user guide on adding disks:

X-RAID accommodates the new disks automatically. You can replace
existing disks with larger-capacity disks and X-RAID automatically accommodates the new disks.

Based on the quote and reading a few related posts, I thought I could just: (a) remove either of the two existing disks; (b) add one new disk; (c) let the new disk sync the data; (d) remove the remaining 'old disk'; (e) replace it with the remaining new, 3TB disk, and then (f) let the new disk synce the data.

Unfortunately, I've tried this with two different new hard drives on the compatibility list and it isn't working for me. Neither of the new hard drives is formatted. I remove one of the old disks, insert one of the new 3TB disks, and at that point the ReadyNAS becomes unreachable via its web admin page, RAIDar, or through the Windows network. I've waited several hours, and even after that much time the device does not become reachable. The ReadyNAS also is unable to gracefully shutdown using the power button. In short, the hardware appears to be frozen.

I also tried the same process but started with a powered down state, and that didn't work either -- the power button just went into slow blink mode and the ReadyNAS was not reachable as above.