× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Readynas NV+ V1 - Mounting OS partition in support mode

Greg911P
Aspirant

Readynas NV+ V1 - Mounting OS partition in support mode

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the forum but just wanted a definitive answer on whether it's possible to mount the OS partition from telnet support mode to clear up suspected problem log files. Alternatively, is there a way to enable SSH from telnet support mode.

I did see an article on mounting the OS partition from support mode but it needed mdadm which isn't available on the NV+ V1. There were other articles talking about using another
command fuse-ext3 but that's not there either. How does the boot loader mount the file system under normal conditions ? Are there alternative commands or is it managed by one of the
background daemon processes that run ?

I know I can do both from FrontView, but that's my problem at the moment the interface login timesout. I can access shares and do everything else just fine, so I suspect the OS partition may be full and is stopping me connecting the Frontview GUI.

Advice appreciated.

p.s. I know I can do a full factory reset to clear the logs, but I want to keep my data on there if possible (without having to move it away and back).

Thanks in advance.
Message 1 of 16
lexisgr8
Tutor

Greg911P, Did you ever find out how to do this? I've ended up in a similar situation after forgetting to enable SSH before upgrading the firmware. Frontview isn't accessible (Apache is not running I guess) probably because I've got PHP5 installed, and I can't SSH in (in all other regards the box is working fine). I've booted into tech support mode, but like you, I can't work out how to mount the boot partition without MDADM. I'm pretty sure that all I need to do once I mount the FS in tech support mode is to prevent PHP from loading and all will be well again.