Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

Hi,

I have a ReadyNAS Duo V1 and it's been working fine for well over a year. I have a number of Windows Vista, 7 and 8 PC's on my network and they can connect to the shares on the ReadyNas without issue.

The network consists of a Netgear ProSafe GS724T switch acting as DCHP server connected to most PC's via cat5e. A BT Home Hub 3 providing wireless access to a laptop and Android devices. There is a reserved IP range configured on the DCHP and the ReadyNas is set (Via ReadyNas front view) to a static address in that reserved range, everything else uses DCHP.

I've recently rebuilt one of my Win 7 PC's (I'll call it 'belle' from here on), with Win 7 HP 64 due to an SSD upgrade, and since the upgrade it cannot see or connect to the ReadyNAS.

Belle can see and connect to shares on the other PC's through Windows Explorer.
Belle can access the internet
Belle is connected via cat5e
Belle can ping the ReadyNAS both by name and IP.
If I run RAIDAR Belle can detect the ReadyNAS, and load and log-in to the Front View interface by clicking 'setup', however If I try and 'browse' via RAIDAR I receive and error.
The ReadyNAS does not appear Belle's the Windows Explorer.
Typing in the name or IP of the ReadyNAS directly into the Windows Explorer address bar returns an error, with or without a share name.
Belle's primary user is configured with the same username and password as previously, which is also the same as another of the PC's which can connect perfectly well.
Belle is configued to be on a Home network but I have tried Work Network too
Network discovery and file sharing is enabled on Belle
The ReadyNAS does appear on the Network Map (Network and Sharing Centre -> See Full Map)
I've tried enabling and disabling IP6
I've also tried disabling the firewall

Any ideas?
Moderator
Posts: 18,458
Registered: ‎2015-07-16

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

>>> Typing in the name or IP of the ReadyNAS directly into the Windows Explorer address bar returns an error, with or without a share name.
This would be \\name or \\xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx ??? What error are you seeing?

If you try "net use" to map a NAS share to a drive letter, what happens?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

Hi,

yes, what is the error you see when you type \\nas-xx-xx-xx (replace with your nas hostname)

also, from the command line, type: pushd \\nas-xx-xx-xx
what error do you see now?

then try from command line: net use \\nas-xx-xx-xx readynaspassword /user:readynasusername (thats an already setup readynas user)

if in windows explorer, you go to Network.. what do you see? you should see your pc, plus any other pc's on the network, including the readynas.. you should also an icon that will take you to readynas admin..
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

Thanks guys, will have a play over the weekend when I'm back home and update this thread.

Cheers for now.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

StephenB wrote:
>>> Typing in the name or IP of the ReadyNAS directly into the Windows Explorer address bar returns an error, with or without a share name.
This would be \\name or \\xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx ??? What error are you seeing?

If you try "net use" to map a NAS share to a drive letter, what happens?


yep

\\SCOOBY\media
or
\\192.168.0.222

net use z: \\SCOOBY\media
System error 58 has occurred.
The specified server cannot perform the requested operation.

same error with
net use z: \\192.168.0.222\media
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

felbus wrote:
Hi,

yes, what is the error you see when you type \\nas-xx-xx-xx (replace with your nas hostname)

also, from the command line, type: pushd \\nas-xx-xx-xx
what error do you see now?

then try from command line: net use \\nas-xx-xx-xx readynaspassword /user:readynasusername (thats an already setup readynas user)

if in windows explorer, you go to Network.. what do you see? you should see your pc, plus any other pc's on the network, including the readynas.. you should also an icon that will take you to readynas admin..


From explorer address bar:
\\SCOOBY\media

Windows cannot access \\SCOOBY\media
Check the spelling of the name. Otherwise...

from cmd window:
pushd \\SCOOBY\media
The specified server cannot perform the requested operation.

Same error as above with net use with the password and username.

From Windows Explorer Network view I can see:
Computer(3)
BELLE, AMY, HUGO

Network Infrastructure(1)
BT Home Hub 3.0

Other Devices(1)
BT Home Hub 3.0

Storage(1)
ReadyNAS Duo (SCOOBY)

Right clicking on the ReadyNAS icon allow me to connect to the Front View application via a web browser. On my other PC's (and this one before the rebuild) SCOOBY also appeared under the "computers" section.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

Anyone got any bright ideas?
Moderator
Posts: 18,458
Registered: ‎2015-07-16

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

Perhaps try the net use command again with a different share (and using the NAS admin credentials)???

Also, have you tried turning your internet security/antivirus software off?

BTW, my ReadyNAS also only appear on "storage", so that in itself it not the problem.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

please paste the output of an ipconfig /all from your win 7 64bit pc

also, please open cmd and type

ipconfig /release

then ipconfig /renew

try again and tell us the outcome please..
Moderator
Posts: 18,458
Registered: ‎2015-07-16

Re: Rebuilt Win 7 PC cannot connect to ReadyNAS Duo

felbus wrote:
please paste the output of an ipconfig /all from your win 7 64bit pc

also, please open cmd and type

ipconfig /release

then ipconfig /renew

try again and tell us the outcome please..
Note he can ping the NAS and connect to it via Frontview. It appears to be only SMB/CIFS access that is failing. Is there something specific you are thinking might be wrong with the iP configuration?

Though the original post is clearly wrong when it identifies the GS724T as the DHCP server. That must be the home hub.
Discussion Stats
  • 19 replies
  • 17 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 4 in conversation
Top Contributors