Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-09-03

frontview cannot login

Hi All

I am having an issue with frontview, i cannot login,

- SSH still works
- Share still work ( AFP,SMB,CFS)

in the logs for /var/log/frontview/error.log

i get this

[Wed Nov 09 20:40:31 2011] [error] [client 192.168.0.9] PAM: user 'admin' - invalid account: Authentication service cannot retrieve authentication info.

please help

thanks
Adam
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 38,569
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: frontview cannot login

Do you have any addons installed?

Have you been installing things via SSH (e.g. using apt-get or dpkg)?

What version of RAIDiator is shown in /var/log/raidiator_version ?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-09-03

Re: frontview cannot login

Hi

I have some addons installed but nothing new, this only started last night,
i got an email yesterday afternoon saying that a sync was happening, and then i had a power cut do it had to restart, since then i cannot acces the front view
i do have ssh installed which i did a while ago via the dpkg ( that addon from the readynas webstie)

here is the output from /var/log/raidiator_version

RAIDiator!!version=4.01c1-p8,time=1314924646

i appriacted all the help
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 38,569
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: frontview cannot login

That means you're on 4.1.8 (latest firmware)

You say in another thread you removed PHP5. Had you tried to access Frontview after removing PHP5 but before the power cut?

How much data do you have on the device? It could be best to backup all your data, then do a factory reset and reload data from backup and manually re-configure, install add-ons etc. A factory reset on 4.1.7 or later (e.g. 4.1.8 your NAS is running) will give you 4k sector alignment which will be useful when you move to using 2TB disks.

If you don't want to do that you might want to open a tech support case (http://www.readynas.com/support) and see if they can help.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-09-03

Re: frontview cannot login

It did not work after PHP5 was removed

could i try and do an OS flash, i saw on another thread that it worked
NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 38,569
Registered: ‎2011-06-07

Re: frontview cannot login

OS/firmware re-install might work.

Some other suggestions you should probably try first are here: http://www.readynas.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=56019
Moderator
Posts: 3,059
Registered: ‎2008-01-15

Re: frontview cannot login

abs52 wrote:
It did not work after PHP5 was removed
could i try and do an OS flash, i saw on another thread that it worked


Before doing an OS reinstall, try the following in an SSH shell on your ReadyNAS:


rm /etc/frontview/apache/addons/*php*
apache-ssl -f /etc/frontview/apache/httpd.conf -k restart


If the last line produces some error messages, please post them here again.

-Stefan
Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or visit my add-on web site
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-09-03

Re: frontview cannot login

Hi

When i run the first command i get " rm: No match." and the second i get "apache-ssl: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 192.168.0.7 for ServerName"

in my /etc/frontview/apache/addons/ i have

BITTORRENT.conf READYNASPHOTOS.conf TRANSMISSION.conf nasmonweb.conf.old
NOLED.conf READYNASREMOTE.conf ftpwhoweb.conf transmissionweb.conf


and more ideas??

thanks
Moderator
Posts: 3,059
Registered: ‎2008-01-15

Re: frontview cannot login

Basically that means your FrontView should be up and running at https://192.168.0.7/admin ... what happens if you try to access that link?

-Stefan
Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Google+ or visit my add-on web site
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-09-03

Re: frontview cannot login

I get the login promtp but then i enter admin and the username and my password ( which i reset thinking i might have got it wrong using the reset password page)
but then it just gives me an error

This webpage is not available
The webpage at https://192.168.0.7/admin might be temporarily down or it may have moved permanently to a new web address.
Error 9 (net::ERR_UNEXPECTED): Unknown error.
Discussion Stats
  • 21 replies
  • 13 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors