Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2017-02-08

How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

[ Edited ]

Hello,
how can I setup all 3 routers in my network?
I have following routers:

1.) the router from my Internet Service Provider
--> IP-Adress is 192.168.192.1
      Subnetmask 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 192.168.192.1

      DNS Server: 192.168.192.1

 

2.) FR114P ProSafe Firewall Router (no 1)
--> IP-Adress: 192.168.0.1
      Subnetmask 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 192.168.192.1

      DNS Server: 192.168.192.1

3.) FR114P ProSafe Firewall Router (no 2)
--> IP-Adress: 192.168.100.1
      Subnetmask 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 192.168.192.1

      DNS Server: 192.168.192.1

 

Many thanks!

NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 3,427
Registered: ‎2015-06-23

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

Hi mwolf,

 

Welcome to the community! Smiley Happy 

 

For me, since the main router is the one that came with the Internet Service Provider, what I will do is I will configure the 2 FR114P as switches to extend the local network.  I'm going to access the web-GUI of the 2 FR114P then on the LAN IP Setup page, I will set a static IP address on the 2 FR114P that is within the IP range of the main router the came from your Internet Service Provider.  Then, I will uncheck "Use router as DHCP server" still on the LAN IP Setup page on the 2 FR114P.  Then, I'll connect the 2 FR114P to the LAN ports of the main router.  In this way, the 2 FR114P are now set as pass-through switches. and I could connect more PCs on the local network.

 

 

Regards,

 

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2017-02-08

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

Thanks a lot for your help!
I´ll try this later after work.

NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 3,427
Registered: ‎2015-06-23

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

@mwolf,

 

I just want to follow-up on this.  Any updates?

 

 

Regards,

 

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

Highlighted
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2017-02-08

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

Hi DanaA,
sorry I had no time to try it out yet, but I´ll try it later... if it works I let you know... if not too. ;-)

 

NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 3,427
Registered: ‎2015-06-23

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

@mwolf,

 

I just want to follow-up on this again.  Were you able to try to set up the FR114P firewall routers? If yes, kindly let us know the result.   

 

 

Regards,

 

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2017-02-08

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

[ Edited ]

Hi, sorry for the late response.
I´ve tried it but it didn´t work yet.

The ISP Router has following IP: 192.168.192.1

The "FR114P Router 1" has following IP 192.168.0.1

The "FR114P Router 2" has following IP 192.168.0.100

 

Should I send some screenshots from all routers?

NETGEAR Moderator
Posts: 3,427
Registered: ‎2015-06-23

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

@mwolf,

 

Here are the steps:

 

1. Access the web-GUI of the two FR114P.  

2. On the LAN IP Setup page, set a static IP address to the two FR114P routers that is within the IP range of the ISP router.  For example: 192.168.192.6 for the 1st FR114P then 192.168.192.9 on the 2nd FR114P.

3. Still on the LAN IP Setup page of the 2 FR114P,  uncheck "Use router as DHCP server."

4. Click Apply.

5. Connect the two FR114P to the LAN ports of the ISP router.  The two FR114P will now function as pass-through switches to extend the local network. 

 

 

Regards,

 

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2017-02-08

Re: How to setup 2x FR114P ProSafe Firewall Routers in the Network

DaneA,
thanks again for your help!

I´ll try it out this weekend.
You can close this thread, if it not works I´ll send you a PM.

Discussion Stats
  • 8 replies
  • 142 views
  • 2 kudos
  • 2 in conversation
Top Contributors