Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: NETGEAR ProSafe™ Gigabit 8 Port VPN Firewall FVS318G lowers my internet download speed

Sato1902
Aspirant

NETGEAR ProSafe™ Gigabit 8 Port VPN Firewall FVS318G lowers my internet download speed

Hello there,

I'm an amateur in this case so I need some help from you guys.

Its about my internet download speed. Speedtest says 16 Mbit...but I pay for 120 Mbit. Once I connect the DSL modem straight with my pc everything is working fine (arround 100 Mbit). The moment I put my NETGEAR ProSafe™ Gigabit 8 Port VPN Firewall FVS318G between them my dowload speed decreases to 16 Mbit. Upload and ping are okay....only the downloadspeed sucks!

I dont know what to do with the ProSafe to get the same speed as I put the modem right into the pc.

Can somebody pls. help my with this?

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Best regards,

Sato

Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: NETGEAR ProSafe™ Gigabit 8 Port VPN Firewall FVS318G lowers my internet download speed

Hi Sato1902,

Welcome to the community! 🙂

The model of  the FVS318G that you have seems to be a version 1 (FVS318Gv1).  The FVS318Gv1 has a LAN-to-WAN Throughput of 25Mbps.  Kindly check the FVS318Gv1 data sheet here for reference.  Since you are paying for a 120Mbps of internet connection, you need to use a VPN firewall that has a LAN-to-WAN Throughput greater than 120Mbps.  

I suggest you either of the following NETGEAR VPN Firewalls: FVS318Gv2, FVS318N, FVS336Gv3 or SRX5308.  All of these firewalls have a LAN-to-WAN Throughput greater than 120Mbps.  Kindly access the data sheet below for more information as well as know their comparison:

ProSAFE® VPN Firewall Series Data Sheet

Regards,

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 4

All Replies
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi Sato1902,

Welcome to the community! 🙂