Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-04-04

Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

I have two WNR3500L routers in my network with a D-Link 8-port GigE switch between them. I use two routers so that I have wired and wireless network access at opposite ends of my house. However I am having trouble because I cannot access the web-based configuration of the secondary router anymore to configure it. Internet Explorer says the website is inaccessible.

I originally set up the routers this way:
Primary - DHCP on, IP = 192.168.1.1, Starting IP = 192.168.1.2, Ending IP = 192.168.1.254

Secondary - DHCP off, IP = 192.168.1.2

Are there any other settings I should configure to use two of these routers in the same network?

When I access setup in the primary router, the Attached Devices screen shows that it assigned 192.168.1.2 to my wireless printer even through I assigned this IP address to the secondary router in its setup menu.
When I enter 192.168.1.2 in Internet Explorer to access the secondary router's web-based setup, I get the web setup for my wireless printer instead. This seems like a conflict since both the router and printer cannot have the same IP address.

How can I access the secondary router's web-based setup?

After turning off DHCP on the secondary router, is it even possible then to access its web-based configuration anymore?

Thanks
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Prodigy
Posts: 8,423
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

First - I advocate one network, one router - don't break this rule unless you know what you're doing. It's not that it can't be broken, I know of networks with dozens of routers, and have built more than a few such networks myself - however - such networks are implemented & managed by professionals.

Your first mistake is that you are setting your DHCP server lease pool in such a way that it can issue an ip address that you have already used as a static address (192.168.1.2) - IF you're going to use static addressing on a network with a DHCP server, you must configure the DHCP server so that it can NOT issue any of the addresses that you will set as static.

I configure my DHCP server to start issuing addresses from .101, leaving everything below that to be used as static - you might like to do something similar.

Configure the first router to issue addresses from 192.168.1.101 to 192.168.1.254, restart the router and all the clients one by one and then check the router to see if the devices are using the correct addresses, and if they are, try to reach the second router's web page at 192.168.1.2 and see what happens.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-04-04

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Jmizoguchi,

Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately this did not work. As soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access the router's web-based configuration page, either at the new or old IP addresses.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help,
mgreen
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-04-04

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Fordem,

Thank you for your reply. I set the secondary router's IP address to be outside the DHCP server's (primary router's) IP address range. However, as soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access its web-based configuration page.

There doesn't appear to be any way to access the secondary router's configuration when its DHCP function is turned off. Any other ideas?

Thanks,
mgreen
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

mgreen wrote:
Jmizoguchi,

Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately this did not work. As soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access the router's web-based configuration page, either at the new or old IP addresses.

Any other ideas?

Thanks for your help,
mgreen


off course you will not until you plug the unit setup as AP plug to existing network.

put static IP on your PC and access the device that is now has DHCP off.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Prodigy
Posts: 8,423
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

mgreen wrote:
Fordem,

Thank you for your reply. I set the secondary router's IP address to be outside the DHCP server's (primary router's) IP address range. However, as soon as I change the IP address of the secondary router and turn off its DHCP function, I can no longer access its web-based configuration page.

There doesn't appear to be any way to access the secondary router's configuration when its DHCP function is turned off. Any other ideas?

Thanks,
mgreen


1) What is the primary router's ip address range?
2) What is the primary router's DHCP lease pool?
3) What did you set the secondary router's ip address to?
4) What ip address are you trying to access the secondary router's web page at?

The secondary router MUST be set to an ip address within the same network range as the primary router, but, outside of the primary router's DHCP lease pool. If you set the addresses correctly (and connect the router correctly), you will be able to access the secondary router regardless of whether it's DHCP functionality is on or off.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-04-04

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

1) What is the primary router's ip address range?
The primary router's IP address is 192.168.1.1.

2) What is the primary router's DHCP lease pool?
192.168.1.2 - 192.168.1.199

3) What did you set the secondary router's ip address to?
192.168.1.200

4) What ip address are you trying to access the secondary router's web page at?
192.168.1.200

I can't explain why but it's working today. Thank you for your help.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Issue with two WNR3500L routers in one network

Looks like it suppose like URL I gave you .

Enjoy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 8 replies
  • 9740 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors