Reply
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender


Hi all

Wonder if someone can lend their expertise for this question / problem.

I have a Netgear N750 (BT infinity) which is great, but the wireless range is poor toward my kitchen, so I bought a NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender.

It was easy to setup, used the WPS function and it matched my SSID / WPS settings without any problems.

But!!

It creates the same SSID only with _EXT added, which means its a seperate wireless broadcast that needs setup with my Android handsets / tablets.

The problem is, my tablet latches onto the router SSID, and hangs onto it even with 1 bar and wont goto the _EXT signal which is strong.

How do I extend my wireless network using the same SSID and making the signal seamless throughout the house? (Without having to seperate networks)

Sorry for the long winded post, but it's the only way I can articulate the problem.

Thanks

Val
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

Anybody? :-)
Highlighted
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

Please help anyone, I can't get this working right, I hate having two networks in my house!!
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

You you tried loging into the exteneder and manually changing the SSID????
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

sabretooth wrote:
You you tried loging into the exteneder and manually changing the SSID????


Ahh, so if I change the SSID to the same as my router, will that merge them? (effectively removing the _EXT)

I will try that then.

Thanks for the reply.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

Basically yes. Same SSID, just make sure the are on different channels, like 1 & 6, 1 & 11 or 6 & 11.
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

Ok thanks my friend! I will try that now!
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

sabretooth wrote:
Basically yes. Same SSID, just make sure the are on different channels, like 1 & 6, 1 & 11 or 6 & 11.


Well I changed the SSID but there is no option in the menu to change the channel, so I changed the router to Channel 2 but the wireless extender also changed to Channel 2. Any ideas?
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-02-13

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

1. You cannot change the channel, there is only one radio onboard so whatever channel it's listening to from the router side, is the same channel it has to be on when it tramit signal acting as extender.

2. In theory that extenders will work correctly when it's sitting on the edge of signal from the router device. Implementation by different manufacturers yield different result. At the end of the day, I find even the latest product release of extenders still battling issues similar to what you are experiencing. This is referring to retail, consumer-class products, not covering enterprise products or anything that you cannot purchase at your local Fry's/Best Buy.

3. Try position your router in a different location if possible.

4. I'm used to multiple SSID in my house since I usually have around anywhere between 4-6 routers running simutaniously and swapping for new ones every month or two. I do the same in my office with maybe some setup or component devices (NAS, adapters, media players, etc) different between the two place. My point is that...well... if you are able to interconnect two far point using stuff like PowerLine or MoCA in your house to achieve full-coverage of wireless signal with another AP/router at the other end (while avoiding intereference with channels used), may be your easy way out as playing with stuff like antenna will be more painful when everything is said and done plus when you look at the effectiveness afterall...
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

Re: NETGEAR WN3000RP Universal WiFi Range Extender

EvoXevO wrote:
1. You cannot change the channel, there is only one radio onboard so whatever channel it's listening to from the router side, is the same channel it has to be on when it tramit signal acting as extender.

2. In theory that extenders will work correctly when it's sitting on the edge of signal from the router device. Implementation by different manufacturers yield different result. At the end of the day, I find even the latest product release of extenders still battling issues similar to what you are experiencing. This is referring to retail, consumer-class products, not covering enterprise products or anything that you cannot purchase at your local Fry's/Best Buy.

3. Try position your router in a different location if possible.

4. I'm used to multiple SSID in my house since I usually have around anywhere between 4-6 routers running simutaniously and swapping for new ones every month or two. I do the same in my office with maybe some setup or component devices (NAS, adapters, media players, etc) different between the two place. My point is that...well... if you are able to interconnect two far point using stuff like PowerLine or MoCA in your house to achieve full-coverage of wireless signal with another AP/router at the other end (while avoiding intereference with channels used), may be your easy way out as playing with stuff like antenna will be more painful when everything is said and done plus when you look at the effectiveness afterall...



Thanks Evo

Since I changed the SSID to the same as the router everything seems to be working seamlessly! Full coverage without having to swap between router / extender manually!
Discussion Stats
  • 9 replies
  • 35629 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors