Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2010-05-19

WNA1100, Windows 7

on the box i bought it says clearly it can run on windows 7, your website says it cant now, not offense to any of you guys personally but fix it serius i would require my money back because thats a scam when you put a mark on your product and then it's a clear white lie.

yes i tried a lot but everytime it do the driver on win7 home premium 32bit it get stuck at "Registrerer netværkskort..." witch is in danish and means registrating network card..." or something like that and it sits there for more then a half hour and does NOTHING ..

now i saw i could request to get it made im not going to request im going to require since i paid for this product with a mark saying it works on windows 7

-Tuck
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/11127/kw/Windows%207/r_id/100109
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2010-05-19

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

jmizoguchi wrote:
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/11127/kw/Windows%207/r_id/100109


there is WNA1000 but not WNA1100

or is there something else i should look at in that link?
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2010-05-19

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2010-05-19

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

ops.. sorry.

I would contact support at my.netgear.com
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2010-05-19

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

jmizoguchi wrote:
ops.. sorry.

I would contact support at my.netgear.com


will do so
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

Tuck0x8 wrote:
will do so


keep posted! Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2010-08-06

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

I am also having problems with this on Windows 7. I attempt to install the driver, I click express settings, it looks like it installs then after this a box should appear prompting me to insert the adapter, but it doesn't.

Randomly when I am using the computer however, this box will appear, it will ask me to insert the adapter, which I do, but it fails to recognise it.

I'm not happy has it clearly states on the box that it is compatible with Windows 7 and has the logo.

I have contacted Netgear support and they suggested downloading the latest driver off the website, which I had already done, but tried again, still didn't work. So now I am waiting for another reply.

Does this actually work with Windows 7 or not?!
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2010-08-06

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

It now appears to be working Smiley Happy

I had a look on the FAQ's for this adapter and I noticed that Kaspersky could interfere when installing the adapter. So I followed what it said and uninstalled Kaspersky, installed the software and adapter, and it appears to be working fine!
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2010-09-05

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

I have submitted a request to netgear support regarding this issue and asked why there is a Win 7 logo on the packaging and yet it is not listed on either the Netgear website or the Microsoft website as being supported in Win 7. The reply is at least honest (and I quote) "I am sorry to inform you that we do not have the driver for the adapter to support Windows 7 operating system" but conveniently no answer as to why it is advertised to do so and the message ends with "Thanks again for choosing NETGEAR. Have a great day! "
Roughly translated "thanks for your money, you're stuffed!" - taking it back to the shop and removing Netgear from my future product buys I think!
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2010-12-30

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

I've also been hoodwinked by Netgear but don't see how I can return it to the shop - after all they are selling it "as advertised". What I will do is sell it on Ebay (only to Vista or earlier users) and find every review I can which mentions this router then remind people thinking of buying it that it DOES NOT work with Windows 7. Needless to say I'll never buy another Netgear product again, and slag them off to everyone who will listen.
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-01-24

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

wow! I am having the same problem with the wna1110, which worked fine for a couple of weeks. lately it works when i uninstall netgear software that, i dont understand. i am extremely angry about this because it is shady, and deceitful in other words just a con. i hate netgear and win 7...they suck because they think theyre so big they can ignore the consumer.:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-09-20

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

I ended up right clicking the icon (down by the clock) and disabling the "SmartWizard" which was detecting the security and forcing bad security. We use WPA-Personal with AES the Netgear kept forcing WPA-Personal / TKIP and wouldn't connect. After disabling the "SmartWizard" and then getting it changed in Windows network connections it now works. Smiley Very Happy

I can see how this would frustrate many.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2015-01-28

Re: WNA1100, Windows 7

I spent 5 hours trying to make one work using Windows 7 64 bit. After I gave up, I installed a DLINK. It worked fine.

Since I had lost the packaging and FRY's wouldn't give me back my money (OK, I know the tules, no harm no foul), I decided to play with it some more.

So I put in another hard drive, installed Windows 7 and AVAST Antivirus, as is my custom. Tried to install the Linksys beast. Same thing, no soap. Then I remembered something about ZoneAlarm and/or AVAST not playing well with some devices. Unloaded both ZA and AVAST and Mirabile Dictu! Up popped the WNA1100 all by itself. And Mirabile Dictu Otra VEZ! My original builtin wireless adapter woke up, and said "You been looking for me?". I though that adpater had gone bad, which was the reason I bought the Linksys.

So I installed both AVAST and ZA and all was well. Went through the whole exercise again, to see which one is the culprit. EITHER OR BOTH!

I guess if you want to install a device, you have to uninstall your protection systems first. So I'm looking at Comodo and maybe AVG.

And no, I didn't have two antiviruses running, I dont like ZoneAlarm's AV.

So I guess the device is kind of OK after all. Interesting that the DLINK installed without a peep. Black Magic, I say!

But I still think Netgear's support pulls a heavy vacuum. Maybe that will get by the censors...
Discussion Stats
  • 14 replies
  • 36308 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 8 in conversation
Top Contributors
User Kudos Count
1