× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

I enabled SMART CONNECT and it ended my internet forever

Alex_taylor
Tutor

I enabled SMART CONNECT and it ended my internet forever

So heres my issue with their product. 

1) who ever designed the interface of these products is down right mentally retarded 

(Need to connect to your router? first connect to the wifi.... but wait having wifi issues? want to connect to your router to fix them? connect to the wifi to access it... Tough luck)

2) The fact that they charge you for help on a product that YOU BOUGHT FROM THEM shows how much of a money mongering corperation this is.

(Called customer support... "Hello let me check to see the issue (Checks first to see if I have a subscription to them) Oh I know the solution and its an easy one BUUUUUTTTTTT you have to pay upwords of 200$ to fix your small issue." THAT I KNOW IS CAUSED BY THE RETARD WHO DESIGNED THEIR SOFTWARE IN THE FIRST PLACE 

3) again with the design and these are the issues 

I enabled smart connect and it **bleep**ing ended my internet forever

Tried to hard reset it now I cant even access my og settings 

Found a post similar and this is what they said..... not very helpful 

"when connecting to wifi the device reports an incorrect password. 

Testing

I have done a lot of testing and can reproduce this error every time.

I have been able to reproduce this issue in router mode and AP mode.

these things all failed

• changing password on router and device
  • factory resetting device
  • using a working ios device to setup a new ios device
  • trying to attach a device that was brand new to the network
  • factory reset router and re configure.

Solution:

The simple solution to this is uncheck Enable Smart Connect. When this is enabled its hit or miss on a working WiFi."

This was coppied from someone else who fell into this retarded ass loop as me