× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

2x r7800 in mesh

bjorn24
Follower

2x r7800 in mesh

So I'm pretty new to all of this networking stuf, but now that we are redoing the network in or home I was wondering some things.

I have an old router in my room that needs replacing and was thinking of buying an r7800 for good wifi connection and also for gaming.

But now the big question because we are redoing the network in or living room as well and first we thought to place a router there as well so we have good wifi and cable network to place a ps4 and home entertainment system.
but it would be great to have a mesh wifi netwerk in the whole house...

So the setup will be as followed:
The 2 routers will be connected with cable to the same modem. Is it still possible to create a mesh netwerk between the 2 routers like this? maybe with a mesh extender between the 2?

Message 1 of 2
StephenB
Guru

Re: 2x r7800 in mesh

@bjorn24 wrote:

The 2 routers will be connected with cable to the same modem. Is it still possible to create a mesh netwerk between the 2 routers like this? maybe with a mesh extender between the 2?

Generally you don't connect two routers to the same modem.  Business internet service often supports this, but most home internet service doesn't.

There is a difference between a modem and a gateway that is important to understand though.  A gateway is a modem+router combination.  You can connect both R7800s to the LAN ports on the same gateway.  You'd set them up as Access Points (APs), not in router mode.  They could use the same network name, but you wouldn't have the mesh features.  Your clients would still roam between them, but there would be times where you'd need to turn your client wifi off/on to get to the best signal.