× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Alternate login for Netgear WN3000RP

PatriotMary
Aspirant

Alternate login for Netgear WN3000RP

I have an older range extender that I'm still trying to use.  I have not been able to log onto the device with therecommended address (forum rules won't let me post it) to see if the firmware needs to be updated. Is there an alternate log-in that I can use? 

Background: 
I have been using the device for the past 2 years in my shop outside my home (max75 foot distance) with good results, connected to a Linksys router using an AT&T hotspot device for internet service.  I have just switched to a T Mobile hotspot, which has comparable speeds to the AT&T, but am receiving very poor results with the extender ( I literally pulled out one hotspot and put the other in its place).  I can connect directly to the router with my laptop if I take it to the house.  The connection from router to extender hasn't changed.   I have ordered a NETGEAR WiFi Mesh Range Extender EX6400 and am awaiting delivery. 

Any other suggestions for an improved signal to my shop from my house wifi?

Model: WN3000RP|Universal WiFi Range Extender
Message 1 of 9
plemans
Guru

Re: Alternate login for Netgear WN3000RP

If the extender is connected to the linksys its running off the linksys's signal.  

Did you remove that as well? 

Reason I asks it hot spots notoriously don't have good 2.4ghz/5ghz broadcast powers/capabilities. Its why for home use, they tend to be connected to a router. 

That could be why you no longer have decent signal at the garage for the extender to pick up and rebroadcast. The extenders still need a decent signal to connect to. 

Message 2 of 9
PatriotMary
Aspirant

Yes, There is the hotspot, connected (wired) to router, and my extender to the shop.  Unless I mis-read your question.

Thank you

Message 3 of 9
plemans
Guru