× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Best wired access point

Walkers
Aspirant

Best wired access point

Hi. I'm new to this so apologies for a simple Q. I'd like advice on which Net gear Access Point product would work best for a wired Cat 5/6 Home/Small office, coming off a Net gear N 300 router. I have renovated an old stone home and need to boost wifi across both the house and an adjacent barn 30 metres away which also has hard wired cabling. I'm looking at the EX 6150 (but is this old tech but so is our router) and/or should I go for the EX 7000 series. I need to hard plug in the Ethernet cable from the router into the access point. Also as the whole house has Cat 5 points, assume I can use a couple of these if the wifi signal isn't too in other parts of the property? Thanks

Model: EX6150|AC1200 WiFi Range Extender,EX7000|AC1900 WiFi Range Extender
Message 1 of 8
StephenB
Guru

Re: Best wired access point

The ex6150 in AP mode would certainly work, and has faster wifi than your current router.  Whether that matters depends on your internet speed.  You ideally want cat 5e cable, not just cat 5.

You can use multiple extenders in the house, but I think a better approach would be to get an Orbi.  You could also put an Orbi satellite in the barn (connecting it via ethernet to the Orbi router).  Can you give us some idea on the size of the house (# floors and approx. square feet)?

Message 2 of 8
Walkers
Aspirant