× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: EX7000 Wifi Range Extender Dropping out after upgrade latest Firmware

Shyrage
Aspirant

Im no expert either.  Im taking however the orginal so called fixed was never actually fixed.  I'm not sure what update I am on but the last time I updated was about two years ago I think.  I pretty much gave up on netgear as they have with us.  It was in their hopes from what it seems that we moved on to a newer product.....

Message 151 of 168
drdantru
Tutor

I gave up long ago. I got a new extender and it has been flawless. I loved the EX7000 until I “updated” it. I reacted odd causing my router to shut off. I see to reason to risk other equipment on this unsupported extender. Best to move on.
Model: EX7000|AC1900 Nighthawk WiFi Range Extender
Message 152 of 168
JeroenVH
Aspirant

Hi Everyone,
So today is the first day my extender has not dropped out.
I am still on the wretched V1.0.1.84_1.0.148 but what I did was assign the extender a static IP in my Nighthawk router settings.
I was reading a post from a network technician the other day and he said that this is quite an important step to take when creating networks with extenders so I thought why not give that a shot.
So far so good, I will try and keep this forum updated in case things go wrong again so lets see what happens.
Note assigning a static IP in the extender settings didn't do anything for me, I had to assign it in the main router's settings.

Kind regards,
Jeroen

Message 153 of 168
JeroenVH
Aspirant

So, small update:
Everything went well for 3 days until my wife connected to the extender by cable with her mac book from work, thats when it kicked the bucket again.
Not sure what that is about but I'm wondering if giving her mac book a static IP might help, going to try it later.