× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Ethernet cables and the X6 AC2200 range extender

Bobbm2
Guide

Ethernet cables and the X6 AC2200 range extender

Hello all,

I have just bought a new house but my new garage/workshop is too far away to receive a wifi signal directly from the router or via the extender. I have a shed load of ethernet cable and am wondering if I can connect my Netgear range extender (X6 AC2200) directly to my router with this cable? I have not moved in yet but have been trying to find information on-line about this issue but can't find anything. I'm not an expert at networking but would appreciate some simple instructions.

Many thanks,

Bob

Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

Re: Ethernet cables and the X6 AC2200 range extender

The EX7700 is a pretty rock solid extender. 

Unless you have wifi 6 (AX) devices, the EX7700 is still going to be one of the best performing extenders/access points out there. 

And when wired in, its triband. So its got plenty of bandwidth. 

Like I said, unless you're looking at going wifi 6 and its meeting your needs, I'd keep using it. 

View solution in original post

Message 8 of 9

All Replies
plemans
Guru

What AC2200 is it? (AC2200 is a speed not a model)

Most of the range extenders have an access point mode that lets you wire them into the router. 

If you go to the support site and type in your model number, it'll take you to guides/manuals/firmware. If yours supports access point mode, it'll be in the manual. 

Go to https://www.netgear.com/support/
Type in your model number and from there it'll take you to the above.
Its a great resource to start with.

Message 2 of 9
Bobbm2
Guide