× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

New AC1200 Dual Band WiFi Mesh Extender - Slow Connection

Maxneumie
Guide

New AC1200 Dual Band WiFi Mesh Extender - Slow Connection

Hi there, forgive me as I’m new to this, but I recently purchased and set up a AC1200 Dual Band WiFi Mesh Extender. After running a few speed tests I’m getting in between 18-28mbps download speeds. For reference, running a speed test from the same spot pre-extender had me running closer to 300mbps speeds. Is this normal dropoff? The technical support was not much help, they said to wait and it should speed up over time.

As a side note, when I use the Nighthawk mobile app there is an “update” icon in orange but it doesn’t actually allow me to update, as when I click on it it just takes me to the network map.
Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
plemans
Guru

Re: New AC1200 Dual Band WiFi Mesh Extender - Slow Connection

The 5ghz will have faster speeds. 
I highly doubt your primary router was hitting 300mbps over 2.4ghz. 

Again, 5ghz is capable of faster speeds but not 2.4ghz. 

If you don't like the mesh features, you can disable it and just use separate ssids for it. 

How do I enable or disable One WiFi Name on my Nighthawk Mesh WiFi Range Extender? | Answer | NETGEA...

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 8

All Replies
Maxneumie
Guide

For reference, here are two screenshots. I hope this helps. Thank you!
Message 2 of 8
Maxneumie
Guide

And this is what I see when I click “update”.
Message 3 of 8
plemans
Guru

The EX6150 is a mesh extender. Those speeds are pretty accurate for the 2.4ghz side but not the 5ghz size.