× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Nighthawk AC2200 x6

Riddler0712
Tutor

Nighthawk AC2200 x6

All, I am new to this, but have set up my extender as an access point, plugged directly into Cat6 Ethernet running at 350gbps fibre, yet the max WiFi speed obtained from the access point on 5ghz channel is a disappointing 86gbps.

isnthere anything in the settings that would help dial this up, or do I accept that this hardware is not designed as an AP and will never pull the full fibre speed?

basically what I am asking is should I buy a dedicated AP, instead of pretending my extender it is an AP, or can I tweak what I have for more speed.

Model: EX7700|AC2200 Nighthawk X6 Tri-Band WiFi Mesh Extender
Message 1 of 6
plemans
Guru

Re: Nighthawk AC2200 x6

Are you using smart connect on the EX7700?

If so, it'll steer devices between the 2.4ghz, and the 2x 5ghz channels. 

If you're device is on 2.4ghz, thats about what you can expect for speeds because 2.4ghz is a slow network.

But the 5ghz should be faster. 

So what band are you connected to when you're speedtesting?

Message 2 of 6
Riddler0712
Tutor

Hi there Thankyou for the response. No I switched off the smart setup and went straight for the 5ghz option. So the device is only connected to that one, nothing else.
Message 3 of 6
plemans
Guru

What speeds are you getting over each of the following? 

1. wired into the EX7700?

2. 2.4ghz on the ex7700?

3. 5ghz-1 on the ex7700?

4. 5ghz-2 on the ex7700?

how are you testing speeds? (device, app, browser, ect)
have you tried other devices? 

Message 4 of 6
Riddler0712
Tutor

I use Speedtest by ookla for consistency across all devices and locations.

I have not tried a wired connection into the 7700, only wireless on my iPad.

2.4ghz around 12 to 16 mbps

5ghz 1 around 88 to 92 mbps, and same for connection 2