× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Trouble setting up new Nighthawk Tri-band WiFi range extender

Pink_lilytree
Aspirant

Trouble setting up new Nighthawk Tri-band WiFi range extender

Hi,

I should start by saying I am not very good with technology. We currently have the top broadband with Sky but have had issues with it. We live in a small-ish 3 bedroom house (UK) so our issue isn't due to having a large home. With our Sky router, we get adequate WiFi in the downstairs of our house but nothing towards the back of our kitchen and nothing when you step out into our garden which is approximately 12m from the router. We get WiFi in the room directly above the router but nothing in two of the bedrooms upstairs.

So after a recommendation from a friend who lives in a very large house,  I ordered the WiFi range extender. It arrived yesterday and I set it up using the app. First of all I encountered an issue with the Firmware update as it wouldnt let us update, I just kept getting an error message. Eventually I gave up on that and skipped that step (perhaps this is where the issue is).  I checked the app and it showed we had great connection. 

However, the areas of our house which were 'black spots' before, still are. 

I contacted Netgear and was told to move the extender to nearer the router, which I did but it didn't help. I then did a hard reset of the extender but again, we are still having the same problem. When I checked the app the speed test now showed moderate speeds.

I'm not sure what the issue is. I spent £160 on this thinking it would solve our issues but I'm feeling frustrated that it hasn't.

Has anyone experienced this that could offer some advice? 

Thanks 

Model: EX8000|AC3000 Nighthawk X6S Tri Band WiFi Mesh Extender
Message 1 of 4
plemans
Guru

Re: Trouble setting up new Nighthawk Tri-band WiFi range extender