Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎2007-01-20

(German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Hello everybody.

Yesterday I've written a HowTo on setting a WGT624 up as client or even as repeater/bridge.
Since I'd trouble to find such information around the net I thought it would be a good idea to provide that HowTo to the Netgear Forum (where ppl usually search for somehting like that Smiley Wink ).
It is written in German but if enough people would like to have it in English I would translate it and post it here.

Here is the link: http://www.vallstedt-networks.de/Forum/viewforum.php?f=13

have fun.
BeatJunkie
Luminary
Posts: 12,950
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

The standard WGT624 does not support any of the modes that you refer to. I don’t read German, but it looks to me like you suggest installing a non-Netgear version of firmware, which would invalidate the warranty and would have no support from Netgear.
Aspirant
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎2007-01-20

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

No. The WGT624 DOES support these modes.
The only problem is, that they are not supported by the built-in web UI.
The chipset which is used IN the WGT (Atheros) does support these modes, so the WGT itself supports them too.

The firmware isn't changed in any way.

I use a tool named "telnetEnable.exe" which is provided by Netgear itself in a official firmware update package to enable telnet functionallity for the WGT.
Then I use commands, provided by the built-in OS to enable client/bridge/repeater mode and stuff.

that's it.
No firmware modification or violations of warranty at all.

Hope that helps Smiley Happy
xen Aspirant
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2007-01-28

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Hi,

I've looked everywhere for telnetenable.exe. Seems even the link on your 'how to' is no longer active. I have found the C source, but will have trouble if I have to compile it myself. Any ideas where I can get it? Would it possible for someone who has it to email it to me please? :confused:
Aspirant
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎2007-01-20

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

I uploaded the file to some filesharing service: http://files.to/get/349970/64662/telnetEnable.rar
xen Aspirant
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2007-01-28

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Ah, you're a legend my friend. Thanks so much for the file, I appreciate it.Smiley Very Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎2007-01-20

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Because I got some requests, I decided to translate it and put a English version of the HowTo online.
Here is the link: http://www.beatjunkie.de/Router_eng.htm

BeatJunkie
Aspirant
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2007-02-19

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Looks like a good write up Beatjunkie! Any chance this process will work with a WGR614v6?
Aspirant
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎2007-01-20

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

@AtLarge:
It definately should work also with a WGR614 since v5.
Afaik it has also running the telnet daemon.

It is even assumed to work with WPN824v1 and WG602.

Just try it out. Smiley Happy

BeatJunkie
xen Aspirant
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2007-01-28

Re: (German) HowTo on setting up WGT624 as client/repeater/bridge

Hi,

What's the best way to undo the changes? Will a simple reset suffice or do I have to telnet in and make changes?

Thanks in advance for any info,

Gavin.
Top Contributors