Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎2008-02-19

WGR614 Reboot from web interface

Is there a way to reboot the WGR614 remotely i.e. not pulling the plug out.

My router is not in the room where I use my computer so it would be nice to be able to reboot it remotely. This feature ia available on other Netgear products so I don't understand why it would have been left out of this one.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

usually under diagnostic there is reboot. which version of wgr
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎2008-02-19

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

Account Name WGR614v6
Firmware Version V2.0.19_1.0.19

There isn't a diagnostics link for this router.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

damole wrote:
Account Name WGR614v6
Firmware Version V2.0.19_1.0.19

There isn't a diagnostics link for this router.


I heard this before..
I don't see it either
http://interface.netgear-forum.com/WGR614v6/start.htm

unless new firmware fixes or simply complain Netgear.. that is all you can do.

there is other products that can control power outlet from the network to do On/off time but that is added hardware

https://my.netgear-support.com/myNETGEAR/ENG/login.asp
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎2008-02-19

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

I found a work-a-round in another forum. Just check and uncheck the 'Default DMZ Server' box under WAN Setup and click apply.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

damole wrote:
I found a work-a-round in another forum. Just check and uncheck the 'Default DMZ Server' box under WAN Setup and click apply.


what actually help you with DMZ.. DMZ will not do any reboot the router function..
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎2008-02-19

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

jmizoguchi wrote:
what actually help you with DMZ.. DMZ will not do any reboot the router function..



When you change certain settings of the router it needs to restart, DMZ is one of these. So all I'm doing is checking the box and then unchecking the box, leaving it as it was, but this causes the page to think something has changed and so restarts the router. So I'm not using DMZ at all, I'm just using the DMZ settings box to fool the router into thinking something has changed and therefore cause it to reboot.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

I see ! Bit cheasy way to do it bit I guess any you can use any thing to change settings to reboot.
Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2012-05-23

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

I know this is an old thread, but it helped me out, so thanks!
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-03-21

Comparison with KWGR614 Reboot from web interface

damole wrote:
When you change certain settings of the router it needs to restart, DMZ is one of these.


If you looking for how to reboot the KWGR614 via the web GUI you get the same issue as WGR614 - it is not on the GUI menus. This above tip was helpful for the KWGR614 in as much as I found a work around for that model too. The DMZ did not cause a router restart (you can tell if it has worked just look at the log page before and after you do this).

To reboot the KWGR614 via the web GUI goto "Basic Settings" page and just press "apply" button and it will reboot (as shown in log page of KWGR614 which says "System initializing..." )
Virtuoso
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎2015-01-20

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

SkipR wrote:
If you looking for how to reboot the KWGR614 via the web GUI you get the same issue as WGR614 - it is not on the GUI menus. This above tip was helpful for the KWGR614 in as much as I found a work around for that model too. The DMZ did not cause a router restart (you can tell if it has worked just look at the log page before and after you do this).

To reboot the KWGR614 via the web GUI goto "Basic Settings" page and just press "apply" button and it will reboot (as shown in log page of KWGR614 which says "System initializing..." )
Great tip!

I hate to bump an older thread, but I just got one of these and have run into the same issue of wanting to reboot from the web interface.

I ran into an even easier way--click the 'test' button on the 'basic settings' page. Even though all it is supposed to do is launch another window that checks if you can hit netgear.com, it also does the reboot. :cool:
Virtuoso
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎2015-01-20

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

So now that we've figured out how to reboot the router through the web interface, anyone figured out how to automate it yet?

From what I can tell, there's several html files called by the basic router configuration page. But I can't tell which one is being used for the reboot. Anyone have any clues?

I'd like to make this as part of a reboot script that will automatically reboot the router when there's a loss in ping.
Virtuoso
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎2015-01-20

Re: WGR614 Reboot from web interface

SamirD wrote:
So now that we've figured out how to reboot the router through the web interface, anyone figured out how to automate it yet?

From what I can tell, there's several html files called by the basic router configuration page. But I can't tell which one is being used for the reboot. Anyone have any clues?

I'd like to make this as part of a reboot script that will automatically reboot the router when there's a loss in ping.
Well, this wasn't too hard. Here's is a wget script that will quietly reboot the router upon execution:

WGET -qO- --http-user=LOGIN --http-passwd=PASSWORD --post-data="Test=Test" http://192.168.1.1/ether.cgi

Replace LOGIN with your login and PASSWORD with your password. Also, change the IP address of 192.168.1.1 to whatever your WGR LAN IP address is. Let me know if you have any problems as I've only done some limited testing (works for me).
Discussion Stats
  • 12 replies
  • 104162 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation