Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2007-09-27

WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

I have a desktop that chops every time I put a wireless card in it, so it's not connected to my wireless internet/network. I have a netgear wgr614 and and just bought a netgear wpn824.

Is there any way I can hook my desktop that's left out of the mix to a wireless router through ethernet and configure that router to act as a wireless adapter which hops on the wireless network?


[] desktop computer
|
| [] Cable Modem
[] wireless router |
| |
| [] wireless router #2
\_______________________________________/
Wireless connection
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2007-09-27

Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

disregard the diagram, It didn't show up right here's a diagram

PC W.router W.router2 Cable Modem
[]====[]-----------------------[]=========[]
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2007-09-27

Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

I should also state that I currently have the same SSID for both routers, same channel, and different ip addresses (192.168.1.1/192.168.1.99)

DHCP disabled on the one connected to laptop

WPASK encryption enabled
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

this only solution.. cable between the the unit

http://kbserver.netgear.com/inquira/default.asp?ui_mode=answer&prior_transaction_id=9367&action_code...
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2007-09-27

Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

thank you for trying to help. I've been there. I'm trying to avoid a cable as it's not feasible, hence the title.

Does everyone concur that there is no other alternative?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

you need to look this..

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=6776
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2014-11-01

Re: WPN824 and WGR614 - can I do a wireless bridge?

ave a desktop that chops every time I put a wireless card in it, so it's not connected to my wireless internet/network. I have a netgear wgr614 and and just bought a netgear wpn824.

Is there any way I can hook my desktop that's left out of the mix to a wireless router through ethernet and configure that router to act as a wireless adapter which hops on the wireless network




_______________________
ishtiaq
Discussion Stats
  • 6 replies
  • 56275 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors