Reply
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-12-02

Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

The U-Verse AT&T provides does not have a guest access for wireless. So I am thinking of connecting my Netgear WNDR3700 to the U-Verse Modem. The U-Verse modem is also a router with wireless. Has anyone got any suggestions how to do this? I have read elsewhere that I will need to disable the wireless in the AT&T U-Verse modem which is easy. Just looking for the correct way to add the Netgear to this U-verse modem/router that won't give me any problems. I appreciate the help, and did search before posting a question. Thanks, Ron
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-12-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

No one have any ideas?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

You know you posted wrong place for 3700

http://forum1.netgear.com/forumdisplay.php?f=105
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

You can't bridge u verse so you are sol on that . You can't use guest well when 3700 is in AP mode, I do think
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-12-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Sorry, thought gateway router area was the place to post, will have to look for the other areas. I also know the U-verse can't be bridged, what I was reading in other places was that you can disable wireless in the U-verse modem and plug a router into the U-verse and use that added router. At the very bottom of this page is what I was going to try http://www.sbbala.com/uverse/index.html I was just looking here to see if any one else had tried hooking up a router to this before I tried. Guess I will just try it and see what goes.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Been not able to bridge , you may just end up double NAT
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-12-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

jmizoguchi wrote:
Been not able to bridge , you may just end up double NAT
Thanks, after I try and mess with it, I will post any results so others can benefit from it if they try to do this.
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2013-07-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

That's twice I have been kicked out and returned to this empty box. If you want to know how to make things work call AT&T support. It is a simple set of steps if you know what you are doing. I tried to list the steps but the site deleted the information, 2X. bye.
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2013-07-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Here goes a third try very short timeouts...
aDSL (U-verse) input to AT&T mdm/rtr.
outputs are
Wifi 2.4 GHz low band only.
Ethernet ports usually U-verse installed/changes by U-verse tek.
1. Whole house DVR unit
2. Unit powered antennae assy
3. output Ethernet cable to WNDR3700 (N600 assy)
4. spare

3700 input from above
outputs WIFI
1. 2.4 GHz low band [use for slow devices like Wifi Printers/ e Printers (usu. HP)]
2. 5 GHz Hi band [use for iPODs, iPhones, iPAD, galaxy Notes, etc.
Ethernet ports on back]
1. PC [ this makes the PC a wired connection to the aDSL cable via a modem.]
2. Hard Drives for personal cloud drives like WD My Book Live 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, or 10 TB HDD
3. spare or see #2
4. spare or see #2

Works for my systems...
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-12-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

takhart wrote:
That's twice I have been kicked out and returned to this empty box. If you want to know how to make things work call AT&T support. It is a simple set of steps if you know what you are doing. I tried to list the steps but the site deleted the information, 2X. bye.


Sorry to hear you got kicked 2x takhart.
Actually ATT Modem don't have bridge, but it has passthrough.
Passthrough is the same thing, and it works just fine.
Ports are opened and remote viewing of security cameras work.
ATT Support is actually not good. I rather figure it out then go through them, their answer is usually $$$.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-12-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

takhart wrote:
Here goes a third try very short timeouts...
aDSL (U-verse) input to AT&T mdm/rtr.
outputs are
Wifi 2.4 GHz low band only.
Ethernet ports usually U-verse installed/changes by U-verse tek.
1. Whole house DVR unit
2. Unit powered antennae assy
3. output Ethernet cable to WNDR3700 (N600 assy)
4. spare

3700 input from above
outputs WIFI
1. 2.4 GHz low band [use for slow devices like Wifi Printers/ e Printers (usu. HP)]
2. 5 GHz Hi band [use for iPODs, iPhones, iPAD, galaxy Notes, etc.
Ethernet ports on back]
1. PC [ this makes the PC a wired connection to the aDSL cable via a modem.]
2. Hard Drives for personal cloud drives like WD My Book Live 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, or 10 TB HDD
3. spare or see #2
4. spare or see #2

Works for my systems...


I probably run as much or more as you have. I have 3 laptops, 1 desktop, wifi printer, 2 PS3 consoles 2 DVR security systems connected and a 8 port switch 2 Ipods and think that is all. It does quite well for running all this on my system. I also use the 2.4 and 5G as you mentioned.
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2013-07-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

In general I agree about the level of expertize of AT&T installers. BUT the technician I dealt with knew exactly what he was doing, understood what I wanted to have happen, knew how to make it work, set it up and it all works.

Since the PC and N600 (alias WNDR3700?) are hard wired together through the N600 (w/Ethernet ports). I have control of the router and through the wires the U-verse settings as well.

I may be a newbie to this site but my credits come with network design, telecommunications management and computer management Master's degrees along with 58 years in electronics (USN, DOD, Private sector).

Your experience with AT&T tek's may have been less than desirable but here in San Diego, one tek from AT&T U-verse is excellent, knowledgeable and polite.

PS: Have a great 4th tomorrow.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-12-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

takhart wrote:
In general I agree about the level of expertize of AT&T installers. BUT the technician I dealt with knew exactly what he was doing, understood what I wanted to have happen, knew how to make it work, set it up and it all works.

Since the PC and N600 (alias WNDR3700?) are hard wired together through the N600 (w/Ethernet ports). I have control of the router and through the wires the U-verse settings as well.

I may be a newbie to this site but my credits come with network design, telecommunications management and computer management Master's degrees along with 58 years in electronics (USN, DOD, Private sector).

Your experience with AT&T tek's may have been less than desirable but here in San Diego, one tek from AT&T U-verse is excellent, knowledgeable and polite.

PS: Have a great 4th tomorrow.


Lucky you to have a teck who knew what he was doing. I was a main cable repair tech for Ameritech, SBC and the now AT&T for 10 years. I and 2 other techs did the troubleshooting on DSL when it first came out to correct bugs and it was no fun, but glad I was a part of it.
The tech I had and his manager both said I would have to go to static IP and pay more a month. Problem is they block ports on the Uverse modem/router and you had to use passthrough to the router to get any ports to open and work for remote connections to my DVR to view security cameras.
Both the tech and his manager said it was not possible but I proved them both wrong and saved the cost of static IP address.
Have a nice 4th also.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

remember to use quote wisely..

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=56314

Happy 4th July Ron!
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2013-07-02

Re: Connect WNDR3700 to a AT&T U-Verse Motorola NVG510 4-Port 10/100 Wireless

Ron,
With several statements from ATT and their refusal to reply to my tel calls/msgs I managed to get everything (almost) working.

Obviously there is 1 more issue. Now I cannot log into the Netgear 3700 (no v# on box) as admin or myself through anything but "genie". In genie I simplified my password to no avail.

I need to access the Netgear login file.

Here is a complication: With Windows 8 Pro, my PC (kudo? to ATT rech#2) is networked (on ASUS motherboard) and hard-wired to Netgear 3700 Ethernet port #2. Port #1 is wired to a 2TB NAS (WD My book Live cloud HDD) Port #3 to ATT port #2. Since data flows both ways all hardware & wires are still A-Ok! Problem -- SW or just my knowledge of what SW and what settings to use?

Therefore; with PC plugged into WNDR 3700 why no success logging in?
To confuse everything (maybe) my email name has changed. I no longer have the original ISP, replaced it with ATT. File sharing, loading, backups, etc. still function normally but no admin access [have not tried to factory reset YET] WD2GO Android works as does wifi printing. scanning, PC printing via 3700 wifi. no cable direct from PC to HP.

Any moderator or others users have suggestions. I do not have the proper experience with these boxes yet. Or the $$ for Netgear tech support (I think I'll only need one email answer from them) I do not know how much $$ they will cost me just to ask them. The 3700 works like gold after all ATT teks did to it.

At 75 I do not need these frustrations.
Discussion Stats
  • 14 replies
  • 7250 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation