Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2007-01-09

DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

Hi,

I would like to create a VNP between a DGND3700v2 and DGND3300v2. what hardware would you recommend?

or will my routers be able to create a tunnel as they are?

Regards,
Jason
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

If both Router GUI shows VPN option then you are ok
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2007-01-09

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

Hi jmizoguchi,

Thinks for taking time to rely, although I have not posted before I have found many of your post helpful for many years.

Both routers have VPN options and I have have attempted a tunnel.

When I enable the policy on the 2nd router all connectivity is lost, I have to reboot the router with the DSL line out and disable the tunnel.

I can see the connection being attempted in the 1st routers log but nothing more.


1st router DGND3700v2
192.168.0.254
255.255.254.0

2nd router DGND3300v2
192.168.1.254
255.255.254.0

Both routers have a FQDN - and both have DHCP scope of 192.168.x.1 to 192.168.x.200.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

both needs to be on 255.255.255.0 class subnet
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2007-01-09

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

Thanks for the tip!

Can I run DHCP on both routers? Do I need to keep IPs unique across the VPN or can the same IP be used either end of the VPN?

Might be some questions above that I should already know the answer too, but I'm sure with the correct subnet I'll have better luck.

Jason.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

1st router DGND3700v2
192.168.0.254
255.255.255.0

2nd router DGND3300v2
192.168.1.254
255.255.255.0


Both uses DHCP for local LAN side. DHCP has nothing do to with VPN tunnel but both side of Lan subnet must be different which is already so you are goodl
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2007-01-09

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

Still unable to create a connection..

my 3300v2 drops all connections when i turn the VPN on.. 3700v2 is fine, i can see in the 3700v2 log its trying to connect. The 3300v2 log is blank..:confused:

i have the below settings on both routers

IKE - Initiator and Responder
Exchange mode - Main Mode
DH - Group 5
Local ID - WAN IP
Remote ID - IP

Encryption - 3DES
Auth - MD5


IP Rages are set to 192.168.x.0 - 192.168.x.255 (auto set by wizard)
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2007-01-09

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

Still unable to create a connection..

my 3300v2 drops all connections when i turn the VPN on.. 3700v2 is fine, i can see in the 3700v2 log its trying to connect. The 3300v2 log is blank..:confused:

i have the below settings on both routers

IKE - Initiator and Responder
Exchange mode - Main Mode
DH - Group 5
Local ID - WAN IP
Remote ID - IP

Encryption - 3DES
Auth - MD5


3700v2
IP Rages are set to 192.168.x.0 - 192.168.x.255 (auto set by wizard)

3300v2
IP ranges are set to ALL, this is not an option in the 3700v2.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

You have VPN policy set wrong

Make sure both policy is EXACTLY the same

You need to look any of case study for router to router setup
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2007-01-09

Re: DGND3700v2/DGND3300v2 - VPN

Hi..

Thanks for you're help, I now have a stable tunnel.. Problem was my pre shared key! Had a space at the end!

Tanks again,
Jason.
Discussion Stats
  • 10 replies
  • 3424 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 2 in conversation
Top Contributors