Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2010-02-09

Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

Hi, I have a DM111PSP and its working when I use it directly with my computer.
But when I connect it with my Linksys WRT54G it doesn't work.

I have another question, since both are routers should I use port forward on the modem or the router???
Aspirant
Posts: 677
Registered: ‎2009-04-02

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

you may need to disable DHCP on the linksys router and configure it as an access point only.. are you sure it is DM111PSP?
kat



---------------------------------------------------



I'm wondering if I could help you.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

if you are using PPPoE for DSL. change the DM111 to RFC bridge and use PPPoE on linksys settings don't ask how.. read manual.. it is listed where is RFC bridge ! not that hard if you can login the router
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2010-02-09

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

jmizoguchi wrote:
if you are using PPPoE for DSL. change the DM111 to RFC bridge and use PPPoE on linksys settings

don't ask how.. read manual.. it is listed where is RFC bridge ! not that hard if you can login the router


Yes I'm using PPoE for DSL. The modem didnt come with a manual but I found one in the firmware, but I couldn't find how to change to RFC Bridge. I found one tutorial but it had a different firmware

I got the internet to work with the linksys just by changing the netgear's ip cause both had the same but now I can't find a way to port forward.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

wilsonn wrote:
Yes I'm using PPoE for DSL. The modem didnt come with a manual but I found one in the firmware, but I couldn't find how to change to RFC Bridge. I found one tutorial but it had a different firmware

I got the internet to work with the linksys just by changing the netgear's ip cause both had the same but now I can't find a way to port forward.


you have to use RFC bridge to use port forward.com

login the router and under you choose PPPoE, you will see RFC bridge
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2010-02-25

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

HI!

I am facing the same problem; I have the same modem (DM111PSP) and a (MR814v2) router, I cannot connect using wireless but I can if I connect direct to my computer. I also tryed with a D-Link WBR2310 router without any result.

I tried everything which is described here:

1) change the IP addresses
2) RFC bridge
3) disable DHCP on the linksys router
4) PPPoE in MR814v2

etc ...

Any other suggestion?

Kikonildo
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

kikonildo wrote:
HI!

I am facing the same problem; I have the same modem (DM111PSP) and a (MR814v2) router, I cannot connect using wireless but I can if I connect direct to my computer. I also tryed with a D-Link WBR2310 router without any result.

I tried everything which is described here:

1) change the IP addresses
2) RFC bridge
3) disable DHCP on the linksys router
4) PPPoE in MR814v2

etc ...

Any other suggestion?

Kikonildo


linksys router? I'm not seeing the setup now with MR814 doing PPPoE
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2010-02-25

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

Thank you for your fast answer.

MY second router is a D-Link router
http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=WBR-2310
but it has some issues and keep disconnecting me ... thus I prefer the MR814 v2

I also tried these configurations:

. MR814v2 doing PPPoE and the DM111PSP in RFC bridge
. MR814v2 doing PPPoE and the DM111PSP doing PPPoE
. MR814v2 using static IP (IP mask 255.255.255.0 Gateway 255.255.255.0) and the DM111PSP doing PPPoE

Any other suggestion?

Kikonildo
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

kikonildo wrote:
Thank you for your fast answer.

MY second router is a D-Link router
http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=WBR-2310
but it has some issues and keep disconnecting me ... thus I prefer the MR814 v2

I also tried these configurations:

. MR814v2 doing PPPoE and the DM111PSP in RFC bridge
. MR814v2 doing PPPoE and the DM111PSP doing PPPoE
. MR814v2 using static IP (IP mask 255.255.255.0 Gateway 255.255.255.0) and the DM111PSP doing PPPoE

Any other suggestion?

Kikonildo


3) disable DHCP on the linksys router


did answer to this yet either..

MR814v2 doing PPPoE and the DM111PSP in RFC bridge


this is the most appropriate setup
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2010-02-25

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

Now it works properly! Thank you very much!

You are more efficient than the all the people from the customer care of my isp, i was dealing with them for two days already. You solved the problem in three messages.

Kikonildo
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

kikonildo wrote:
Now it works properly! Thank you very much!

You are more efficient than the all the people from the customer care of my isp, i was dealing with them for two days already. You solved the problem in three messages.

Kikonildo


enjoy.. Smiley Very Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-06-04

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

If anyone reads this, I am trying to re-connect my netgear DM111PSP modem to a linksys WRT110 wireless router. My problem is that I am able to connect to the internet when I am directly attached to my computer from my modem, but I need to be connected through the wireless router. About two days ago, I managed to connect the two by reconfiguring the wireless with the installation cd, but my brother, who thought that the internet was running too slow for his precious standards, did the "power switch off on modem for 10 seconds" thing and now the connection has been severed. When i try to connect it now, the ethernet light blinks consistently and the computer says that the problem is the connection through ethernet, even though it works fine when I connect directly. Anyway, someone please help me figure out my problem. Also, you might have to describe how to fix this like you are talking to a 4 year old, I don't speak computer language very fluently. Thanks in advance ~ GW
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

if the unit was turned off the by the power plug to the unit then should make no effect on how it was setup. Should work the same way

unless the unit was reset by the small buttons
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2013-05-29

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

jmizoguchi wrote:
did answer to this yet either..



this is the most appropriate setup


I have just purchased the DM111PSP v2 modem/router. I was able to get it set up properly with your help here in this forum. However, I continue to have an issue with the Internet. I get random drops of the Internet, not DSL sync. AT&T really seems to be no help. With just the DM111PSP I do not seem to lose Internet connectivity as much as I do when I have it set to bridge and have my Belkin F5D8236-4 v1 router connected. Do you have any thoughts or ideas on this issue?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble using DM111PSP + Router

You need to use RFC bridge on DM111p

Test pc and setup PPP authentication and test. If that still works the. You Belkin could be the cause is the issues or other compatible issues
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 14 replies
  • 15230 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 6 in conversation