× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

2.4GHz and 5GHz band LED lights consistently blink causing intermittent wifi connection

dosinia
Aspirant

2.4GHz and 5GHz band LED lights consistently blink causing intermittent wifi connection

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to read my post!

I've been using my Netgear router for about five years now and it's been great. Normally, I will work on several wireless devices in close proximity to the router and not experience any wifi problems -- unless it's related to the internet connection which has happened in the past.

Today I was working from my laptop for several hours when all of a sudden I wasn't connected wirelessly to the internet. Then I was connected...and then disconnected...then connected...then disconnected... This constant connection/disconnection is still happening as I'm writing this post. I troubleshooted and checked various things.

1. My internet is working. I am wired right now which is how I am able to write this post.

2. I went to the Netgear website troubleshooting pages and followed instructions related to posts I found about intermittent wireless connections.

3. I logged into my router's web interface page (www.routerlogin.net) and changed channels, modes, and thresholds. Then rebooted the router after every change. I also updated the firmware to V1.0.0.52_1.0.81. The device driver is also updated.

None of these fixed my problem. However I did eventually notice that my 2.4GHz and 5 GHz LED lights are both blinking differently that what I remember. In the past sometimes they both blink at the same time when they are sending or receiving data. Sometimes they are both ON. But now they are constantly blinking (the 2.4GHz is green and the 5GHz is blue; the power and internet lights are green and solid; the port number from where I'm wired is also green and solid).