Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2013-03-19

Connected linksys BEFRS41 into WNDR4500 to create more ethernet ports, not working

So I want more ethernet ports, so what I did is connected the linksys BEFRS41, which is a 4-port ethernet switch into my Netgear WNDR4500. When connected a laptop to the linksys it recognizes a ethernet cord but I am getting no internet. It must be something with the netgear router settings because I have tried this before with a D-Link router and it worked. Any suggestions?
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2013-03-19

Re: Connected linksys BEFRS41 into WNDR4500 to create more ethernet ports, not workin

so the ethernet switcher has 4 ethernet ports, 1 WAN, 1 Uplink. I was using WAN before because thats the one that worked with the D-Link, I tried the netgear one with uplink and it now works. Any ideas why?
Master
Posts: 2,679
Registered: ‎2008-04-22

Re: Connected linksys BEFRS41 into WNDR4500 to create more ethernet ports, not workin

BEFRS41 is a router Not a switch. If you need more ports buy a switch. There are other options but they might confuse you. Keep it simple and buy a switch.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Connected linksys BEFRS41 into WNDR4500 to create more ethernet ports, not workin

Use this method to make Linksys as switch
http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965

skip step 1 and WGR614 in the doc is your linksys.

I would get switch instead of make linksys router as switch but it can be done
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Apprentice
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎2011-02-20

Re: Connected linksys BEFRS41 into WNDR4500 to create more ethernet ports, not workin

I'd use a switch as well.... why not stay at gigabit speeds? That old Linksys is circa 2001... 12+ years old... 10/100. I know it works, but you'd be better served with a newer gigabit switch.
~R7000 1.0.4.30_1.1.67
~R6400 1.0.0.26_1.0.14
~WNDR 4500 v2_1.0.0.60
Discussion Stats
  • 4 replies
  • 5578 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 4 in conversation
Top Contributors