Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-03-21

WNDR3400v2 firmware

It seems that firmware version (1.0.0.50) resolves an issue allowing ReadyShare drives to be up to 3TB. However, that version only applies to the older WNDR3400v2 hardware. Is there any time table for when WNDR3400v2 hardware will support this feature?

It is frustrating because this was the "killer feature" for me with this router, and yet I can't use it because my HDD is 1TB. On the box, there was no way to distinguish WNDR3400v1 hardware from WNDR3400v2 in the store.

Alternatively are there any workarounds? Perhaps partitioning the drive into small segments?

Also, in the future, are there any plans to make third-party open source firmware (i.e. DD-WRT or Tomato) compatible with the WNDR3400v2 model?

Thanks,
Nathan
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

put your 2cents to support directly at my.netgear.com portal and send trouble ticket
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

NathanNewcomb wrote:
On the box, there was no way to distinguish WNDR3400v1 hardware from WNDR3400v2 in the store.



Yes there is. On the side of the box it says Package Contents:

WNDR3400V2 is clearly written.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-03-21

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

ticket submitted. #18190674
Initial Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-03-21

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

sabretooth wrote:
Yes there is. On the side of the box it says Package Contents:

WNDR3400V2 is clearly written.


My apologies. That is the only place that the model number AND hardware version are displayed. I will go back to the store today and see if they have any v1's in stock.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

You don't want a V1 3400. V2 has a faster processor.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-03-21

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

Why does it matter if it has a faster processor? Currently, there is no support for third party firmware, and processor speed will have no affect on network throughput if traffic is WAN bound.
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎2010-05-28

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

The WNDR3400v2 should be able to support 2TB HDD's based on the link below:

http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19714

You may want to check if the HDD is listed here as well. If it is not, maybe that is the reason as to why it is not working.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-10-25

Re: WNDR3400v2 firmware

I'm having the same problem (among serveral) with two WNDR3400v2. I'm done using Netgear products. Too many stupid problems that doesn't get fixed through firmware updates --test your proudcts. I've got several Netgear products we use at work and ready to trash them to be replaced with Linksys/CISCO. Good bye Netgear!
Discussion Stats
  • 8 replies
  • 8691 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors