Reply
Virtuoso
Posts: 219
Registered: ‎2011-01-06

WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

You can now download WNDR3800 v1.0.0.40 firmware by logging into your router @ www.routerlogin.net. At the time I am typing this, the Netgear Download Center does not have this firmware posted:
http://downloadcenter.netgear.com/en/product/WNDR3800

At this time, there are no release notes for this official update. Here are links to the firmware from the FTP server:

United States Release

World Release

As always, it is highly recommended to perform the firmware update wired to the router and not over a wireless connection.

Bug Fixes and Enhancements:
    Aspirant
    Posts: 3
    Registered: ‎2010-07-09

    Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

    Anyone with further news on tis release?!?
    Apprentice
    Posts: 998
    Registered: ‎2011-06-12

    Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

    I just tried to upload this to my WNDR3800 router and it failed with the following message:

    This firmware file is incorrect! Please get the firmware file again and make sure it is the correct firmware for this product.
    Aspirant
    Posts: 1
    Registered: ‎2012-08-28

    Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

    Problem with USB.
    New user of 3800. I had been using 2 USB devices(Garmin Oregon 300 and USB disk) for about 2 weeks with no issues on FW 1.0.0.38. Today, I updated to ver. 40 using "New FW available" button on the top of the web admin page. After that I connected my Garmin which appeared in web admin, but it could not be accessed via network. In addidion, web admin page was not available until I disconnected the device from USB port physically. I tried reset of the router - the same issue. After that I downgraded to FW .38 and USB worked fine. Unfortunetely, I had no time to complete more investigations.
    Novice
    Posts: 0
    Registered: ‎2009-11-04

    Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

    My WNDR3800 also prompted me to upgrade to v1.0.0.40 last night, which I duly did. It seems to have upgraded fine - however a couple of times last night my laptop kept dropping off the wireless, which very rarely happens usually.

    So I will keep an eye on it for the next few days, and if dropouts continue; I will revert.

    Strangely there is nothing on the Netgear Support site about this version for the WNDR3800:

    http://support.netgear.com/product/wndr3800

    As of today, it still lists v1.0.0.38 as the latest firmware.
    Virtuoso
    Posts: 219
    Registered: ‎2011-01-06

    WNDR3800 Firmware v1.0.0.40 Release Notes

    After a few days Netgear finally answered my e-mail and has provided me with the release notes for the v1.0.0.40 WNDR3800 firmware:

    Bug Fixes:
      Aspirant
      Posts: 3
      Registered: ‎2012-08-21

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      Based on what I'm seeing, I suspect that there is more in v1.0.0.40 pertaining to USB Storage and Time Machine support than just "Support 3TB USB HDD which in MBR or GPT partition format." I am now able to successfully and repeatedly use Time Machine without the router corrupting the Time Machine partition. Previously, connecting a drive with an existing Time Machine backup, or rebooting the router with such a drive attached, would result in the Time Machine partition getting corrupted.

      I am now able to reboot the router with a drive attached, or re-connect a "safely" disconnected drive, without such corruption occurring. The shares become available a few minutes after connecting the drive, and Time Machine is then able to successfully access the partition. This is with a 350+GB Time Machine backup on a 750GB HPS+ partition, on a 1TB WD My Passport SE drive.

      I am curious what exactly has changed, and why this wasn't working previously, but frankly, I'm just happy it's finally working!
      Aspirant
      Posts: 3
      Registered: ‎2012-09-01

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      Like anj747, after upgrading to v1.0.0.40 a couple days ago I have seen my wifi connections dropped. In my case it is dropping frequently enough that it is becoming unusable. The only solution I've found is to either reboot the router or toggle its wifi switch. At this point, I'm planning to downgrade back to the previous version of the firmware. Does anyone know an easy way to do that?

      The symptoms I am seeing:

      - Browser (internet) requests time out
      - My OS (Ubuntu) shows that it still has an active wifi connection to the WNDR3800
      - If I try to load the WNDR3800 admin page, that request times out also
      - So, run down to the basement, reboot the WNDR3800
      - Rinse and repeat
      Aspirant
      Posts: 3
      Registered: ‎2012-09-01

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      FYI, for those wanting to downgrade, it's pretty easy. There is a link to the previous firmware (v1.0.0.38) here:

      http://support.netgear.com/product/wndr3800

      You just have to download the file, unzip it, and follow the directions in the included html page.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 1
      Registered: ‎2012-09-03

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      Same problem here... after upgrading to 040, about every 2 hours, both 2.4 and 5 ghz networks freezes. The wireless network is fully available and all of my pc/smartphones/smart tv have a fully established connection, but it doesn't work. The ethernet side is always up Solution: restart the router. I revert back to 038
      Virtuoso
      Posts: 219
      Registered: ‎2011-01-06

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      I have been running v1.0.0.40 firmware now for days now w/ no drops or issues on 2.4GHZ or 5 GHz bands that others have mentioned. However, I must say that I do not use any of the USB feature(s) of the router, so I cannot speak to any issues with ReadyShare/ReadyCloud/ReadyPrint.

      I have the new “Enable 20/40 MHz Coexistence” turned off and ACS Sensitivity (Clear Channel Selector) turned to “Low” as I always have.
      Guide
      Posts: 38
      Registered: ‎2009-03-05

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      I am experiencing the freezes on the wifi side also. I downgraded to .38 and will monitor this forum for any bug fixes.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 14
      Registered: ‎2011-09-28

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      Yaaay netgear finally fixed the logout bug, though no mention of it in the release notes

      Now i can only pray they implement a syslog feature
      Aspirant
      Posts: 4
      Registered: ‎2012-09-05

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      Had to downgrade to 1.0.0.38 because of continuos disconnectionsSmiley Sad
      Aspirant
      Posts: 3
      Registered: ‎2012-09-06

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      I also upgraded to v 1.0.0.40 and have been experiencing intermittent drops / freeze ups. I downgraded back to 1.0.0.38 for a time and the drops stopped, but returned when I upgraded to 1.0.0.40 again. I do have a USB drive attached, so I may try disconnecting that to see of the problem is resolved.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 9
      Registered: ‎2012-03-27

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      I also MISTAKENLY updated to .40 and my wifi has been dropping like it was back at .32.

      So I guess I am downgrading....seeing that it seems to be a legit .40 problem.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 1
      Registered: ‎2012-09-07

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      Same problem here.. Wireless and .40 is not a good thing...

      Is .38 the only fix?
      Aspirant
      Posts: 9
      Registered: ‎2012-03-27

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      At this point downgrade to .38 is your best option. Who knows how long it will take Netgear to fix it.

      Mine has worked fine since downgrading.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 3
      Registered: ‎2012-09-06

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      wyoung wrote:
      I also upgraded to v 1.0.0.40 and have been experiencing intermittent drops / freeze ups. I downgraded back to 1.0.0.38 for a time and the drops stopped, but returned when I upgraded to 1.0.0.40 again. I do have a USB drive attached, so I may try disconnecting that to see of the problem is resolved.


      I disconnected the USB drive and rebooted today and had no drops / freeze ups all day. Will keep monitoring it, but a USB conflict might be the bug.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 9
      Registered: ‎2012-03-27

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      wyoung wrote:
      I disconnected the USB drive and rebooted today and had no drops / freeze ups all day. Will keep monitoring it, but a USB conflict might be the bug.


      Could be for you.

      I don't have USB Storage attached to mine. I have a Ethernet NAS.

      Good Luck.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 47
      Registered: ‎2012-09-07

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      groundtrooper wrote:
      At this point downgrade to .38 is your best option. Who knows how long it will take Netgear to fix it.

      Mine has worked fine since downgrading.


      Yes, I tried upgrade to 1.0.0.40 but my WiFi status showed Europe as the region and not North America? Tried a separate re flash with Firmware download but got North America in Setup but still Europe in Status. Both bands indicated this.
      I have a separate post about it and experienced WiFi drops and even a couple devices simply would not connect. Went back to 1.0.0.38 and problems went away and region was back to North America. I would say their is some real WiFi bugs in latest firmware. I would say downgrade for sure and if you have not upgraded to 1.0.0.40 don't.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 3
      Registered: ‎2012-09-06

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      wyoung wrote:
      I disconnected the USB drive and rebooted today and had no drops / freeze ups all day. Will keep monitoring it, but a USB conflict might be the bug.


      Disconnecting the USB drive didn't solve it, so I'm downgrading back to .38.

      Hopefully there will be a new fix, because .40 did seem to fix connectivity issues with my Android device when it was working.
      Novice
      Posts: 0
      Registered: ‎2011-09-13

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      jescott418 wrote:
      Yes, I tried upgrade to 1.0.0.40 but my WiFi status showed Europe as the region and not North America? Tried a separate re flash with Firmware download but got North America in Setup but still Europe in Status. Both bands indicated this.
      I have a separate post about it and experienced WiFi drops and even a couple devices simply would not connect. Went back to 1.0.0.38 and problems went away and region was back to North America. I would say their is some real WiFi bugs in latest firmware. I would say downgrade for sure and if you have not upgraded to 1.0.0.40 don't.


      In V1.0.0.40, go to Wireless Settings page, you can change the region option to "United States", then the Wifi Status will show the wireless region is for North America. But NTGR should check why is the reason that from V1.0.0.38 to V1.0.0.40 will change the wireless region.
      Aspirant
      Posts: 51
      Registered: ‎2011-10-22

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      jpeng wrote:
      In V1.0.0.40, go to Wireless Settings page, you can change the region option to "United States", then the Wifi Status will show the wireless region is for North America. But NTGR should check why is the reason that from V1.0.0.38 to V1.0.0.40 will change the wireless region.


      Not for me, the Aftrica option is grayed out and you can't change it!

      :mad:
      Aspirant
      Posts: 47
      Registered: ‎2012-09-07

      Re: WNDR3800 Firmware Update v1.0.0.40

      For some reason I tried once again to upgrade firmware to 1.0.0.40 and tada!
      The region showing was North America and not Europe which it was doing both other times? Must be a glitch somewhere. What is sad about this is now I have another issue. I have a Netgear N150 WNA1000M USB dongle which connected just fine under 1.0.0.38 but now does not even see the router? How can it not even see its own router? Two Netgear devices cannot see each other??
      How messed up is that. I have 5 other devices all reconnected after the firmware update but the Netgear adapter. Go figure? Even tried WPS and it would not find it.
      Discussion Stats