Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

CM1000 Rock Solid at 500MBps until I upgraded Cox to 1000GBps

NavyNate95
Tutor

CM1000 Rock Solid at 500MBps until I upgraded Cox to 1000GBps

I've used this modem for many years at speeds between 200-750MBps without issue. At my current location I've been using it at 500MBps without issue for 7 months. Then yesterday I upgraded to 1000MBps and I immediately started having internet dropouts for 5-10 minutes at a time every 2-4 hours, which has now been going on for 2 days. Cox is trying to tell me it's my modem, but I don't see how that could be considering it's been rock solid for so many years. 

Logs and status attached.

Message 1 of 7

Accepted Solutions
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: CM1000 Rock Solid at 500MBps until I upgraded Cox to 1000GBps

Find you a -6db coax line attenuator to put in line between the modem and ISP coax line. 

FYI, the modem doesn't output any power, only recieves what the ISP is putting over the coax line. 

@NavyNate95 wrote:

Tech just left. He said there was very low signal loss (around -47dbm) up to the modem and that Cox has no ability to change the power output of the modem. They reprovisioned the modem, but it still has high power levels of 8.5-11dBmV. The tech doesn't know what else to do except get a different modem. I don't really want to do that, so I'll let it ride and if it drops out any more I'm going to go back to 500MBps where it had been rock solid for 7 months.

The LAN cable between the eero and the modem is a Cat 8, and it's the same as it has been for months, so I don't think that's it, either.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 7

All Replies
FURRYe38
Guru

Power levels are too high:

https://kb.netgear.com/24311/Power-level-guidelines-for-a-NETGEAR-cable-modem-router

Any Criticals, Errors or Warnings seen in the event logs needs to be reviewed and resolved by the ISP. Indicates a signal issue on the ISP line up to the modem.