Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Ethernet light flashing green

DrFuguru
Follower

Ethernet light flashing green

I purchased a new NETGEAR CM500 and an Asus RT-ax3000 on january 4th, 2021. I recently switched ISPs and my ISP is telling me with my cable internet that I'm getting my 200Mbps download as provisioned. I have been troubleshooting this since January 22nd, 2021. When I noticed that my ethernet speeds were less than 10Mbps in state (kansas) with a ping over 200ms. While on my cellphone with LTE data off on my 2.4Ghz band is getting 190Mbps with a ping of 30ms in state. I initially thought my router was the fault, but from what I can tell after looking through my routers settings its not the routers fault. After reading through some documentation for the CM500 I noticed that the ethernet indicator when flashing says that the ethernet connection going to my router is not good and that if the light is a solid green the connection is good. Maybe I'm reading this documentation wrong but this would explain the poor speeds if the port isn't running at its expected 300Mbps.
I would like to say no this isn't a simple problem where hey did you notice that your ethernet cord was cut in half recently? Or a situation where my computers port is bad. I have been troubleshooting this for days I have talked to many technical support groups. I have ordered new ports and wifi cards for all my computers to absolutely confirm they are capable of running the speed I am paying for. I have tested multiple different ethernet cables that are all Cat5+ in type. I'm pretty mentally exhausted and putting posts like this up on forums is my last ditch effort. I hope someone here can give me a way out of this networking nightmare.

Model: CM500|16x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem
Message 1 of 2
FURRYe38
Guru

Re: Ethernet light flashing green

Be sure to test a wired PC, use CAT6 cable, directly to the modem, with out the wifi router being in the mix first.