Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

D7000 WiFi Network drops and won't turn on

aBlueAngel
Guide

D7000 WiFi Network drops and won't turn on

NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 WiFi VDSL/ADSL Modem Router Model: D7000 (2017).

with a Devolo 821 dLAN® 1200+ WiFi ac to extend the WiFi networks.

Two WiFi Networks: 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz using different channels and similar SSID names.

I Have been using the above Router and Extender for a few years now with multiple devices with little problems.

Devices: MacBooks, iPads, iPhones, Apple TV 4K, Sony LCD TV, Humax FVP.

Problem

Recently bought a refurbished MacBook Pro 2012 (macOS Catalina 10.15.7) which drops the WiFi Network after a few minutes or several hours of using.  Once it drops I can't turn the WiFi back on unless I restart or shutdown the machine.  Other devices WiFi connections are unaffected by the WiFi dropping on the new device and the internet stays connected.

Things I've tried on the MacBook Pro:

• Reinstalled macOS Catalina.
  • Re-added the Wi-Fi Interface.
  • Deleted the Network Configuration Files.
  • Renewed DHCP Licence under TCP/IP
  • Reset PRAM. 
  • Reset SMC
  • Reseated the cable AirPort/Bluetooth connector out of its socket on the AirPort/Bluetooth board.

I did take the laptop to a local coffee shop to try it on a different network, where it remained stable and did not drop the connection for the two hours I was there. 

Things I've tried on the Router & Extender:

• Updated Router Firmware - V1.0.1.84 (was V1.0.1.80)
  • Updated Extender Firmware - Automatic - Version: 6.0.1 (2023-09-06)
  • Renamed the 2.4GHz & 5GHz WiFi networks name (SSID) to be the same.
  • Changed/matched the Channel numbers (2.4GHz = 6 & 5GHz = 40) for both networks on the Router and the Extender.

Things I haven't tried (yet!): 

• Replace DNS Server with 1.1.1.1 and 1.0.0.1
  • Replace the Router
  • Contact ISP
  • Replace the Airport card

Any ideas or thoughts what could be causing this will be gratefully received.

Regards