Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: DM200 connection problems

Theslop
Initiate

DM200 connection problems

Hi all,

Recently purchased this modem/router as an upgrade to a DG834.

This first unit prchased via Amazon would not even power up.

Unit replaced by Amazon within 2 days, which I have no complaints about at all.

The replacement unit when connected as per manual will not find an internet connection.

I have tried for several hours using different methods but to no avail.

IT WILL NOT CONNECT.

Before I contact Amazon again and report a second faulty unit I was hoping someone on here would be able to help me.

One reason for purchase was the reviews stating how easy it was to setup and connect!!!

I know its not the internet connection because if I reinstall the DG834 it connects immediately.

I'm by no means a network expert so please dont ask to many technical questions in any reply, I'm in the UK and using a MacBookPro with the latest firmware.

Thank You

Message 1 of 14
SystemErrorMess
Aspirant

I have reviewed the DM200 and it should be called the dm100 instead (its only capable of 100Mb/s not 200Mb/s download as claimed).

There is a firmware bug for configuration, you have to use auto config/detect first before you dwelve into advanced,

Heres the link to it http://www.snbforums.com/threads/netgear-dm200-modem-review.34895/

Message 2 of 14

Are you using the "wizard" to set this up.

It can be easier to set it up manually.

See the bit in the manual:

Manage the Internet Settings Manually

DM200 | Product | Support | NETGEAR

Which ISP are you on?

Message 3 of 14

According to the manual, the DM200 provides:

Up to 100 Mbps, both upstream and downstream

100 + 100 = 200

Message 4 of 14
SystemErrorMess
Aspirant

Quite wrong, you cannot add them both up for one way.